Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Deadwood Studios USA» Forums » Rules

Subject: Taking a Role - Can you walk off the set? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jim C
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
So, you move onto a set and take a role in the current scene being shot. The scene requires 3 takes, but you're the only one who has taken a role here. What happens after you roll high enough and succeed in advancing the scene? You have turned over one shot marker - what happens with the remaining two?

Must you wait until other players decide to show up and complete shots for other roles on the set? Can you leave* and move on to another set, leaving the remaining shots to be completed later by another player? Can you move to another role in the same scene and complete it? Or do you just try for another shot in the same role - a re-take, with the scene advanced again for each successful take regardless of whether you did it before?

(*The rules don't specifically say you can't leave your role before the wrap, but this is noted as a change from the first release and commented on by the designer, so it appears that this should not be allowed.)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Ernest
United States
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mb
Interesting, someone else just had this same question on Facebook.

You do not have to wait for other players. Each success at the scene, by anyone, turns over another shot marker. When all three are turned over (or two, or one, depending on the set) the scene is finished and you are free to go.

In the meantime you are still working the SAME ROLE. You are not finished with the role until the scene is complete.

The rules actually DO say "you can't move off a role once you are on it." Your disconnect comes from assuming that you are done with the role when the scene is only partially complete.

Hope that helps,

James Ernest
Cheapass Games
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim C
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
CheapassJames wrote:
Interesting, someone else just had this same question on Facebook.

You do not have to wait for other players. Each success at the scene, by anyone, turns over another shot marker. When all three are turned over (or two, or one, depending on the set) the scene is finished and you are free to go.

In the meantime you are still working the SAME ROLE. You are not finished with the role until the scene is complete.

The rules actually DO say "you can't move off a role once you are on it." Your disconnect comes from assuming that you are done with the role when the scene is only partially complete.

Hope that helps,

James Ernest
Cheapass Games


Doh! I was specifically looking when we played it to see whether there was a rule that said you had to stay in a role and didn' t find it. After reading your reply I re-read them and it's there in two places.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.