Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

BattleCON: Devastation of Indines» Forums » Rules

Subject: Need some rules clarifications rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jonathan Ramundi
Canada
Cornwall
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
I call green!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Just got the game and am reading through the rule book (again), and I have a few questions (sorry if some of these have been asked before):

Re: Multiple Special Actions (Cancels/Pulses/Finishers) during the same beat
(I've seen answers to these questions but I'm still not fully clear.)

The rulebook describes what happens when two Cancels/Pulses/Finishers are played during the same beat.

What happens exactly (to the Special Action cards, Finisher cards, discards, etc.) when:

1) A Pulse and a Cancel are played?

2) A Pulse and a Finisher are played?

3) A Cancel and a Finisher are played?

Re: 'Normals' clashing

4) Are Reveal effects on new bases executed?
(My guess is no.)

5) To be clear, only the style and the top-most base will be recycled at the end of the beat?

6) To be stupidly clear, the beat will immediately end after a clash if either player has run out of bases?
(The rule book just says "cards".)

7) When that happens (skip to end of beat due to running out of bases), who antes first during the next beat?
(My guess is the person who anted first the last beat.)

Thanks.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sascha Parsa
Germany
flag msg tools
It's better
badge
if you can do without
Avatar
mbmbmb
There is a FAQ on BattleCON Online.

To answer the first 3 questions:
FAQ wrote:
Q: Pulse vs Cancel vs Finisher; What happens when two of those are played the same beat?

A: The order of resolution is Pulse, then Cancel, and finally Finisher. If a Pulse meets a Cancel/Finisher the Pulse is resolved as normal but the Cancel/Finisher doesn't take effect. Instead the Special Action and base cycle to discard 1 and the player has an additional style available for 2 beats. If a Cancel meets a Finisher the Finisher doesn't take effect and the Special Action and base are placed in discard 1 just as if it was a normal attack pair. If two instances of the same Special Action meet each other (and clash in case of Finishers) the Special Action cards are placed in discard 1, the bases are returned to their respective hands and new attack pairs are played just as if a Cancel was played.
Cycling means that all discards move as normal (played cards -> Discard 1 -> Discard 2 -> hand).
Placing the cards in discard 1 means that those cards go there and are there in addition to the cards that were in discard 1 previously.

4. Your guess is correct. Reveal effects are resolved only once. The notable exception are two clashing Finishers. Then the reveal effects of the Finishers and the attack pairs played afterwards activate.

5. Yes, only the cards that were "actually played" (= the topmost ones) cycle. The rest of the clashed bases are returned to your hand at that time.

6. Yes. If you run out of styles or bases the beat goes straight to recycling.

7. Again your guess is correct. The player that was active last starts the ante phase.
2 
 Thumb up
5.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan Ramundi
Canada
Cornwall
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
I call green!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Phyr wrote:
There is a FAQ on BattleCON Online.

To answer the first 3 questions:
FAQ wrote:
Q: Pulse vs Cancel vs Finisher; What happens when two of those are played the same beat?

A: The order of resolution is Pulse, then Cancel, and finally Finisher. If a Pulse meets a Cancel/Finisher the Pulse is resolved as normal but the Cancel/Finisher doesn't take effect. Instead the Special Action and base cycle to discard 1 and the player has an additional style available for 2 beats. If a Cancel meets a Finisher the Finisher doesn't take effect and the Special Action and base are placed in discard 1 just as if it was a normal attack pair. If two instances of the same Special Action meet each other (and clash in case of Finishers) the Special Action cards are placed in discard 1, the bases are returned to their respective hands and new attack pairs are played just as if a Cancel was played.
Cycling means that all discards move as normal (played cards -> Discard 1 -> Discard 2 -> hand).
Placing the cards in discard 1 means that those cards go there and are there in addition to the cards that were in discard 1 previously.

4. Your guess is correct. Reveal effects are resolved only once. The notable exception are two clashing Finishers. Then the reveal effects of the Finishers and the attack pairs played afterwards activate.

5. Yes. If you run out of styles or bases the beat goes straight to recycling.

6. Again your guess is correct. The player that was active last starts the ante phase.
You da man.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marco Santos
Philippines
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
7) When that happens (skip to end of beat due to running out of bases), who antes first during the next beat?
(My guess is the person who anted first the last beat.)


Whoever had priority during the last valid beat. So if the following happens:

Beat 1: Player A wins priority
Beat 2: Rendered invalid (Player A needs to ante first)
Beat 3: Player A needs to ante first
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brown Cow
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Phyr wrote:
There is a FAQ on BattleCON Online.

To answer the first 3 questions:
FAQ wrote:
Q: Pulse vs Cancel vs Finisher; What happens when two of those are played the same beat?

A: The order of resolution is Pulse, then Cancel, and finally Finisher. If a Pulse meets a Cancel/Finisher the Pulse is resolved as normal but the Cancel/Finisher doesn't take effect. Instead the Special Action and base cycle to discard 1 and the player has an additional style available for 2 beats. If a Cancel meets a Finisher the Finisher doesn't take effect and the Special Action and base are placed in discard 1 just as if it was a normal attack pair. If two instances of the same Special Action meet each other (and clash in case of Finishers) the Special Action cards are placed in discard 1, the bases are returned to their respective hands and new attack pairs are played just as if a Cancel was played.
Cycling means that all discards move as normal (played cards -> Discard 1 -> Discard 2 -> hand).
Placing the cards in discard 1 means that those cards go there and are there in addition to the cards that were in discard 1 previously.

4. Your guess is correct. Reveal effects are resolved only once. The notable exception are two clashing Finishers. Then the reveal effects of the Finishers and the attack pairs played afterwards activate.

5. Yes. If you run out of styles or bases the beat goes straight to recycling.

6. Again your guess is correct. The player that was active last starts the ante phase.
Wait wait wait wait, Pulse outclasses Cancel? Color me surprised to hear that. You'd think the special action designed to shut down your opponents attack wouldn't be shut down like that.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marco Santos
Philippines
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
bakanethe wrote:
Phyr wrote:
There is a FAQ on BattleCON Online.

To answer the first 3 questions:
FAQ wrote:
Q: Pulse vs Cancel vs Finisher; What happens when two of those are played the same beat?

A: The order of resolution is Pulse, then Cancel, and finally Finisher. If a Pulse meets a Cancel/Finisher the Pulse is resolved as normal but the Cancel/Finisher doesn't take effect. Instead the Special Action and base cycle to discard 1 and the player has an additional style available for 2 beats. If a Cancel meets a Finisher the Finisher doesn't take effect and the Special Action and base are placed in discard 1 just as if it was a normal attack pair. If two instances of the same Special Action meet each other (and clash in case of Finishers) the Special Action cards are placed in discard 1, the bases are returned to their respective hands and new attack pairs are played just as if a Cancel was played.
Cycling means that all discards move as normal (played cards -> Discard 1 -> Discard 2 -> hand).
Placing the cards in discard 1 means that those cards go there and are there in addition to the cards that were in discard 1 previously.

4. Your guess is correct. Reveal effects are resolved only once. The notable exception are two clashing Finishers. Then the reveal effects of the Finishers and the attack pairs played afterwards activate.

5. Yes. If you run out of styles or bases the beat goes straight to recycling.

6. Again your guess is correct. The player that was active last starts the ante phase.
Wait wait wait wait, Pulse outclasses Cancel? Color me surprised to hear that. You'd think the special action designed to shut down your opponents attack wouldn't be shut down like that.


You're looking at their names only, Pulse is actually the go-to mega defense move.

Pulse also mechanically states that it NEGATES the activation of the opponent attack pair. As such, Cancel's bounce-back effect is negated due to the nature of Pulse's effects

@Phyr
Doesn't a double Pulse result in both players getting pushed back to the edges of the board? Did it change in Devastation?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sascha Parsa
Germany
flag msg tools
It's better
badge
if you can do without
Avatar
mbmbmb
Yes, that did change with Devastation.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.