Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

BattleLore (Second Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Archers counter Archers? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Arthur Peterson
United States
Cane Ridge
TN
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If an archer unit attacks an archer unit, can the unit that is attacked make a counter? Or are counters limited to adjacent units?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You may only counter if your figure is adjacent to the attacker, and is in the same hex after the attack.

So basically, Archers can only counter Archers if they are right next to each other.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Donny Behne
United States
Fate
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
www.punchboardmedia.com/geaux-gaming/
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Use they reference book, for it is good.

BattleLore Reference Book Page 3 wrote:
After a unit is attacked it may perform a counter against the attacking unit if all of the following conditions are met:
The target unit is adjacent to the attacking unit after resolving the attacking unit’s combat sequence.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Arthur Peterson
United States
Cane Ridge
TN
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ok, that's what I thought. My wife threw a fit when I wouldn't let her archers shoot back. And I had to admit that thematically she was right even if technically she was wrong.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
zpeteman wrote:
Ok, that's what I thought. My wife threw a fit when I wouldn't let her archers shoot back. And I had to admit that thematically she was right even if technically she was wrong.

I'm not sure thematically it's right, either.

For adjacent units, it's like them entering a skirmish and having a battle; if they hold their ground, they push back as part of the same skirmish. For archers, there is no skirmish, just a rain of death from above.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Arthur Peterson
United States
Cane Ridge
TN
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You're right, of course. But try explaining that to my wife
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
zpeteman wrote:
You're right, of course. But try explaining that to my wife

Hmmm, I think I'll pass on that one
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
aaron belmer
United States
Webster Groves
St Louis
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
sigmazero13 wrote:
zpeteman wrote:
Ok, that's what I thought. My wife threw a fit when I wouldn't let her archers shoot back. And I had to admit that thematically she was right even if technically she was wrong.

I'm not sure thematically it's right, either.

For adjacent units, it's like them entering a skirmish and having a battle; if they hold their ground, they push back as part of the same skirmish. For archers, there is no skirmish, just a rain of death from above.


Darken the skies!!!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve R Bullock
United States
Palm Coast
Florida
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
zenmazster wrote:
sigmazero13 wrote:
zpeteman wrote:
Ok, that's what I thought. My wife threw a fit when I wouldn't let her archers shoot back. And I had to admit that thematically she was right even if technically she was wrong.

I'm not sure thematically it's right, either.

For adjacent units, it's like them entering a skirmish and having a battle; if they hold their ground, they push back as part of the same skirmish. For archers, there is no skirmish, just a rain of death from above.


Darken the skies!!!


We will fight in the shade!!!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.