Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Android: Netrunner» Forums » Rules

Subject: omn- drive and cloak rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mark Campo
United Kingdom
Manchester
lancashire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
if omni-drive hosted a cloak, would it add its reusable credit to cloaks reusable credit text of both card below

I think the answer is no but a little bit of me want to argue yes..

Omni-drive: can host a single program of 1 [Memory Unit] or less. The memory cost of the hosted program does not count against your memory limit.1 [Recurring Credits]Use this credit to pay for using the hosted program.
Quantity: 3

Cloak: 1 [Recurring Credits]
Use this credit to pay for using icebreakers.
Quantity: 3

My argument is Cloak has 1 credit, if that is spent, Omni-drive gives it another credit to spend "Use this credit to pay for using the hosted program" the "USE" of cloak is it having a credit to spend,

any thoughts?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dirk Meijer
Netherlands
The Hague
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Milarky wrote:
any thoughts?


no, sorry. wishful thinking.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Campo
United Kingdom
Manchester
lancashire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
guess falls on the " pay for using the hosted program." bit..
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Derrick Billings
United States
Chicago
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Milarky wrote:
if omni-drive hosted a cloak, would it add its reusable credit to cloaks reusable credit text of both card below

I think the answer is no but a little bit of me want to argue yes..

Omni-drive: can host a single program of 1 [Memory Unit] or less. The memory cost of the hosted program does not count against your memory limit.1 [Recurring Credits]Use this credit to pay for using the hosted program.
Quantity: 3

Cloak: 1 [Recurring Credits]
Use this credit to pay for using icebreakers.
Quantity: 3

My argument is Cloak has 1 credit, if that is spent, Omni-drive gives it another credit to spend "Use this credit to pay for using the hosted program" the "USE" of cloak is it having a credit to spend,

any thoughts?


Cloak doesn't require you to pay any costs for its ability. If it said "$1: Make your opponent stop laughing at you for playing Dagger until the end of the turn," then you could use Omni-Drive to activate that.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Campo
United Kingdom
Manchester
lancashire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1 credits to brake most sentries, is not bad..
and the reusable credit can be used on other breakers too.
its like a cyberfeeder with a specialist ice companion, apart from the mu cost.. thats the major draw back
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nushura
Japan
Sendai
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
To the OP: of course not. Cloak has no ability that costs credits

And for the Cloak&Dagger stuff....the main problem is that +5 strength is not enough to break archer. To fine get rid of the sentry problem you need a personal touch to the combo. There are a few decks that on Chaos Theory that use this idea

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Zak Jarvis
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Grimwalker wrote:
Cloak doesn't require you to pay any costs for its ability. If it said "$1: Make your opponent stop laughing at you for playing Dagger until the end of the turn," then you could use Omni-Drive to activate that.


I don't think that this logic is correct. For something to be 'used' doesn't require it to have a cost to trigger the ability. Otherwise boosting Darwin and using Femme's bypass ability wouldn't be 'using' them (and those instances do count as using them, e.g. for Cyberfeeder). In this case, I would think that spending the recurring credit to 'use' an icebreaker is a 'use' of the Cloak card. What the question looks to do is to count replenishing that recurring credit (out of turn no less) as a 'use' of Cloak. I don't think that this is valid.

For contrast if Cloak said: 'Spend any credit (including the recurring one on this card) to use an icebreaker.' you could use Omni-Drive to trigger it and use Omni-Drive's recurring credit for 'spending any credit'. However, the wording we have limits the 'use' of Cloak to the recurring credit on the card.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tables
United Kingdom
Coventry
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Nushura wrote:
To the OP: of course not. Cloak has no ability that costs credits


This is the reason it doesn't work. Cloak gives you a credit to use to pay for using (whatever kind) of programs. This doesn't cost anything, so Omni-Drive can't affect it.

dwjmeijer wrote:


Just wanted to say, you're the third person I've seen on the Netrunner forums (including myself) with a Fire Emblem microbadge. Considering that badge has only 31 owners, that's... quite interesting.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Derrick Billings
United States
Chicago
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Milarky wrote:
1 credits to brake most sentries, is not bad..
and the reusable credit can be used on other breakers too.
its like a cyberfeeder with a specialist ice companion, apart from the mu cost.. thats the major draw back


I kid, I kid. I actually run C/D right now, it's great for most things, but I'm frequently mocked for it and I love it when they assume I'm a n00b before I blow the doors off.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.