Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Great War at Sea: Russo-Japanese War» Forums » Rules

Subject: Ship coexistence and combat in minor ports rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Andrei Shlepov
Russia
Moscow
flag msg tools
badge
We played Star Fluxx, Star Munchkin, Dixit, and, of course, Bomb Alley.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There are several RJW scenarios in which ships from opposing sides might setup in the same minor port. What happens if they still coexist in the port at the moment contacts are usually made? It seems to me that the rules only provide for the situations when one side is in port and another is entering it.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim S.
United States
CA, TX
flag msg tools
designer
See designer's page...
badge
"Reading history, Pinky..."
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi Andrei,

I meant to include clarifying language on these situations in the rules, but forgot.

In short:

- Contact between opposing forces remaining in port is automatic

- If either player desires combat (in some situations, one or both sides cannot initiate combat), set up per standard tactical rules, and unless otherwise restricted by the scenario, vessels of both sides may move normally in combat.

-Jim


2 
 Thumb up
0.01
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrei Shlepov
Russia
Moscow
flag msg tools
badge
We played Star Fluxx, Star Munchkin, Dixit, and, of course, Bomb Alley.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Jim,

thank you for your clarifications.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrei Shlepov
Russia
Moscow
flag msg tools
badge
We played Star Fluxx, Star Munchkin, Dixit, and, of course, Bomb Alley.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Another thing which is in my opinion worth clarifying.

Per the series rules (11.31), the player with ships in port never has the tactical initiative. Does it also hold true for situations in RJW where one side is entering enemy minor port or just for the cases when the intruding player surprises the ships in the port (p. 7)?

And for completeness sake, if both sides enter combat after "peaceful coexistence," do they determine the tactical initiative per the usual rules?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim S.
United States
CA, TX
flag msg tools
designer
See designer's page...
badge
"Reading history, Pinky..."
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi Andrei,

Andrei Shlepov wrote:
Per the series rules (11.31), the player with ships in port never has the tactical initiative. Does it also hold true for situations in RJW where one side is entering enemy minor port or just for the cases when the intruding player surprises the ships in the port (p. 7)?


Yes, this holds true for all situations in RJW where one side is entering an enemy minor port.

Note that for combat in neutral ports (where allowed), initiative is determined per 7.1.

Andrei Shlepov wrote:
And for completeness sake, if both sides enter combat after "peaceful coexistence," do they determine the tactical initiative per the usual rules?


Correct, initiative is determined per 7.1.

-Jim
2 
 Thumb up
0.01
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.