Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Eminent Domain: Escalation» Forums » Rules

Subject: Abundance errata and scenario starting setup? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Taed Wynnell
United States
Sunnyvale
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
For the Abundance errata, is the intent that the newly produced resources go into a special pile (to be later sold), or do they only fill up empty planet (and BioDome) resource slots (in which case it really should be "... produce up to ...")?

(While touching on that, it's slightly confusing that the BioDome does not have full-size resource slots.)

It came up last night when someone got the scenario that uses Abundance. For the starting setup, should that scenario also get an initial 4 resources? (That could be a generalized question: When using scenarios, does the starting setup include any bonuses from technologies that are typically obtained when purchasing?

Also, while on that topic, the scenario cards picture overturned (settled) planets, not the normal unsettled side. Does that mean that scenarios should start with the initial planet already settled?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kenny VenOsdel
United States
Saint Paul
Minnesota
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Taed wrote:
For the Abundance errata, is the intent that the newly produced resources go into a special pile (to be later sold), or do they only fill up empty planet (and BioDome) resource slots (in which case it really should be "... produce up to ...")?

(While touching on that, it's slightly confusing that the BioDome does not have full-size resource slots.)

It came up last night when someone got the scenario that uses Abundance. For the starting setup, should that scenario also get an initial 4 resources? (That could be a generalized question: When using scenarios, does the starting setup include any bonuses from technologies that are typically obtained when purchasing?

Also, while on that topic, the scenario cards picture overturned (settled) planets, not the normal unsettled side. Does that mean that scenarios should start with the initial planet already settled?


Both of these questions have been asked before but I will answer them here again.

Abundance produces 4 resources when it goes into play. You must have places to produce those resources, such as Biodome or a planet with an open slot. If you do not have such a place the bonus is wasted. In the scenario since you do not have slots yet you don't get the bonus. Rather the bonus is just to produce 2 resources whenever you settle or attack a planet (not necessarily on the just flipped planet mind you).

The scenario cards picture overturned planets to make them easy to identify. They still start facedown.
3 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.