Germany
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I just finished my first game (and enjoyed it!) but I have a few questions.

My game ended with my ship flooded after being unable to evade an escort. As far as I understand it, scuttling works as follows:

Roll 2d6, if the result is 12 the U-Boot is in the hand of the enemy and you lose the game. If the result is 2-11 the game is over (because you are a POW) and you conclude with the regular victory determination.

However, this part of the rules confuses me:

Quote:
If both Diesel engines are inoperable,
and the U-Boat is more than one Travel Box
away from port, the U-Boat is automatically
considered to have successfully scuttled.
However, roll 2d6 to determine if the crew
is successfully recovered. On a role of 2-10,
the crew is rescued (and the game continues
with the Kommandant receiving a U-Boat
reassignment). On a roll of 11-12, the crew is
lost at sea and the game ends.


The rules don't make sense to me, at least if my understanding of the rest of the scuttle rules is correct. The only chance to be rescued after a scuttling attempt is if both your diesel engines are damaged AND you are far away from home? Maybe I'm missing some historical background here but this hardly seems to make sense to me.



One small question regarding air attacks:
After the first round of air combat I need to roll again for an encounter, if that encounter is an escort, I can try to evade it and upon failure it will attack me. But what happens if that encounter is another aircraft? I am already submerged so do I need to roll for any damage or do I just need to roll for another encounter (thus having the chance to be attacked by an escort).


Hope you can help me clarify those issues.
Thanks
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stig Morten
Norway
Kvernaland
flag msg tools
Thunder Alley: Crew Chief Expansion - Coming soon to Kickstarter!
badge
Evil lurks here!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
TheCze wrote:
I just finished my first game (and enjoyed it!) but I have a few questions.

My game ended with my ship flooded after being unable to evade an escort. As far as I understand it, scuttling works as follows:

Roll 2d6, if the result is 12 the U-Boot is in the hand of the enemy and you lose the game. If the result is 2-11 the game is over (because you are a POW) and you conclude with the regular victory determination.

However, this part of the rules confuses me:

Quote:
If both Diesel engines are inoperable,
and the U-Boat is more than one Travel Box
away from port, the U-Boat is automatically
considered to have successfully scuttled.
However, roll 2d6 to determine if the crew
is successfully recovered. On a role of 2-10,
the crew is rescued (and the game continues
with the Kommandant receiving a U-Boat
reassignment). On a roll of 11-12, the crew is
lost at sea and the game ends.


The rules don't make sense to me, at least if my understanding of the rest of the scuttle rules is correct. The only chance to be rescued after a scuttling attempt is if both your diesel engines are damaged AND you are far away from home? Maybe I'm missing some historical background here but this hardly seems to make sense to me.



One small question regarding air attacks:
After the first round of air combat I need to roll again for an encounter, if that encounter is an escort, I can try to evade it and upon failure it will attack me. But what happens if that encounter is another aircraft? I am already submerged so do I need to roll for any damage or do I just need to roll for another encounter (thus having the chance to be attacked by an escort).


Hope you can help me clarify those issues.
Thanks


For both diesels to become INOPERABLE you have to survive the attack and escape the Escort/Aircraft still alive. If repair attempts fail, your boat won't make it home as it has no diesels. You radio in that you need help and are scuttling your boat. As you have no enemies close you automatically succeed the scuttling part, but might find no friendly boats nearby topick you up from the sea.

Did that clear it up for you?
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Germany
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ah the difference between damaged and inoperable explains it. I did not realise that there was a case in which you had to scuddle the ship that is not due to flooding.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack Beckman
United States
Sterling Heights
Michigan
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
For the air attack: if a second aircraft appears, you are attacked again. This is spelled out in 9.8.3, the third bullet point.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Germany
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
whoops then I guess I cheated myself through the game a bit. Thanks for clearing that up!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Maik Schmidt
Germany
Northeim
flag msg tools
mbmb
If I may add my question to this thread instead of opening a new one:

WHY can I get another aircraft as an follow-up role on the the standard Add'l Round of Combat after an air attack? And why does it get a free attack?

My boat submerged down to 100-200m where an aircraft cannot detect me. I stay there a couple of hours and sneak away with 4 kn. If another aircraft is called in it only knows where I was, not where I am when it arrived.
With what can it attack me?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack Beckman
United States
Sterling Heights
Michigan
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The first aircraft is calling in the second. And you are being attacked with depth charges. Note the second aircraft does not get the free strafe attack (auto crew injury).
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.