Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Axis & Allies Europe 1940» Forums » Rules

Subject: Question about bombers flying through a combat zone rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Richard Gravy
msg tools
Hi all, I recently encountered a situation that I couldn't find a resolution for in the rule book.

Germany attacked the British navy in SZ 110 with it's battleship and cruiser and some planes. I scrambled 3 fighters from United Kingdom to help defend. Germany was also going to do a strategic bombing of the production facility in UK. The flight path of the bombers was Western Germany > Holland Belgium > SZ 110 > UK and then back. So my question is this: Since all combat happens simultaneously and being that SZ 110 is a combat zone with British planes involved in the combat, is Germany able to fly bombers through the combat zone on their bombing mission, or would they have to go around it?

Thanks for your help!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Chapman
United States
Powhatan
Virginia
flag msg tools
Axis & Allies Developer and Playtester; War of the Ring Editor and Playtester
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
They can fly through.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Isaac Citrom
Canada
Montreal
Quebec
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

Kevin, can you elaborate. What is the rules reasoning here. Is it because any fighters sharing an area with bombers only conflict if the fighters were explicitly directed to intercept the bombers? Something like that?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nathaniel Beck
United States
West Allis
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
isaacc wrote:

Kevin, can you elaborate. What is the rules reasoning here. Is it because any fighters sharing an area with bombers only conflict if the fighters were explicitly directed to intercept the bombers? Something like that?


The fighters were scrambled to participate in the naval battle so they could not also participate in intercepting the bombers. They would have to do an either / or. Although all combat does take place simultaneously, you set up all the combats as separate combats.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Chapman
United States
Powhatan
Virginia
flag msg tools
Axis & Allies Developer and Playtester; War of the Ring Editor and Playtester
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
isaacc wrote:

Kevin, can you elaborate. What is the rules reasoning here. Is it because any fighters sharing an area with bombers only conflict if the fighters were explicitly directed to intercept the bombers? Something like that?

Air units have the ability to treat hostile spaces as friendly during movement, so the bombers could pass through the hostile sea zone on their way to attack. After the attacker's combat movement was complete, the defender (UK) had the option to either scramble the fighters to the sea zone, use them to intercept the bombers, or let them sit and do nothing (each fighter could act independently of the others). Since the fighters were scrambled, they moved into the sea zone at the end of the Combat Move phase and were not in the same space with the bombers during the Conduct Combat phase.

There is no concept of scrambled planes intercepting movement in the game. Scrambling occurs after all of the attacker's combat movement is complete, so scrambled planes cannot block any of the attacker's movements; they can only aid in the defense of the destination sea zone.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.