Recommend

Thumb up
 Hide
32 Posts
1 , 2  Next »   | 

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game: Rise of the Runelords – Base Set» Forums » General

Subject: Grrrr....lost one of my studs rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Robert Leonhard
United States
West Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
So I'm fairly new at this. I'm playing solo through all the existing expansions (well, that's the theory, anyway). I started with Harsk and Ezren, and together they busted through Perils of the Lost Coast and began to hack and burn their way through Burnt Offerings.

We did great up thru "Trouble in Sandpoint"--which was a really fun scenario and a close call for our heroes. They won on the last card.

Then we started up to Thistletop, where I managed to mismanage my heroes, resulting in the heart-breaking death of Ezren. Harsk survived but failed the mission.

So, you veterans--what do you typically do at this point? My inclination is to start up Kyra, using basic cards, and have her join my rugged dwarf. Or should I be solo'ing a character through the first few scenarios to get them plussed up?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Byron Campbell
United States
Santa Clarita
California
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
The rules as written say to make a new character with basic cards. You may run them through older scenarios to get the rewards.

Personally, I think this takes some of the fun out of playing the game and turns it into a grind. I like that there are major consequences for death, but don't like that those consequences basically amount to "lose a dozen hours of your life or play with underleveled characters who will probably die again." I've come up with 2 solutions:

Training at the Arena (for leveling up new characters in a more interesting and faster way)