Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: mrjr_rsp [+] [View All]
Trystan
Sweden
Hässleholm
Skåne
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi, I'm new to Magic Realm and had a question about how much you play the game and how much the game plays you.

Having read through a few of the different manuals/tutorials and trying a bit on realmspeak I'm starting to get to grips with how it all works, how each character is unique and plays differently and it's certainly an impressive game. However, I can't escape the feeling that the game is playing me a bit.

It feels like if I choose a particular character, then I have to discover (and follow) that characters script. If I deviate, the game lets me know I'm not playing by their script properly by killing me.

I'm sure this is down to inexperience but I really just wanted to know if anyone else felt the same and how much freedom I can expect for a given character once I do become more proficient. It'd be a shame if getting to know a character made them less interesting for future plays because they had been solved (at least as far as they can be in a game with random elements).
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Al Ross
United States
Charlotte
NC
flag msg tools
badge
Outside of a dog, a book is a man's best friend. Inside of a dog it's too dark to read. - Groucho Marx
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes... and no.

Remember the basis of Magic Realm is bringing a RPG to a board game, and then creating a playable world within that aspect.