Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

1960: The Making of the President» Forums » Rules

Subject: Playing Retrieved Cards Immediately rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Alex N
United States
Metuchen
New Jersey
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
At least two of the event cards "Great Seal Bug" and "Adlai Stevenson" simply reads "player may retrieve any card from the discard pile".

When you perform that action, do you you place that card in your hand and end your activity or do you play it immediately for the new event or campaign points? The rulebook is silent on that issue.

By simply replacing one card with a new card and then ending your activity you gain the strategic advantage of not having to play a terrible "opponent card" from your hand if you happen to have one. That's the way we played it.

Other cards like "Tricky Dick" explicitly says to "play the card". In that case, we immediately play the event.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
wendigo song
United States
Claymont
Delaware
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
For Tricky Dick you play the event immediately. For Great Seal Bug and Adlai Stevenson after you play the event and retrieve the card it goes in your hand. You played it correctly.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls