Scarten TheBlackNoldor
msg tools
Hi guys,

So what happens with itemcards discarded in previous adventures when a new one begins? Are they still discarded or do they simply come back in the deck?

And what about level 1 cards when the heroes reach level 2?

If you keep discarded cards discarded for the entire game you run out of items pretty soon and chests are simply empty...?

Greetings
Scarten
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nick S
msg tools
I wanna know exactly the same things! Have you found any answers?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scarten TheBlackNoldor
msg tools
No, sadly I haven't.

We've been playing it now that the cards get back eventually but only after the entire pack runs out. The heroes are than just hoping for potions because they already have collected the best weapons.

Ofcourse this changes as soon as one of them dies.

No idea about higer levels though. It just seems silly to pull level 1 cards in like adventure 10...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Simon Woodward
New Zealand
Hamilton
flag msg tools
badge
Move to the Frenzy
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In the DM guide, Starting the Game, page 3, it implies you use all the cards for each adventure, except any that are higher level that the adventure you're going to play (and they only go up to level 3).

The Continuing Play rules at the end of the Players Guide, page 10, don't modify this. I think this is to make it easy to keep track of things from game to game (you only need to keep track of player items).


1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mr cake
msg tools
If a player discards an item it ends up in the discard pile. At the beginning of the next adventure (or if there are no more cards in the item deck) the discard pile is shuffled into the item deck.

At level 1 there are only level 1 items in the deck. Once the players reach level 2 (adventure 5) the level 2 items are shuffled in the item deck. So now there are level 1 and 2 items in the deck.
The same thing happens when the players reach level 3 and with special items.
A great example is the True-Seeyng Eye card. It can only be found in a specific chest in adventure 3 but once used and discarded it can be found in the next adventure at random in the item deck.

Level 1 items are not useless. Level 1 spells cost less magic and some Level 1 weapons have extra powers like immune to paralysis and power attack.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scarten TheBlackNoldor
msg tools
Thanks guys! That clears things up.
Good point about the True-Seeing Eye.

Cheers
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dex Quest
United Kingdom
Maryport
Cumbria
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
yeah, just had a re-read and p3 of the DM guide makes it pretty clear that you use all cards up to and including the level you are on. It just says it in reverse to try and confuse us all - 'put aside any cards that are above the level you are on'
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls