Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
21 Posts

Island Siege» Forums » Rules

Subject: A fort attack question: rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Joseph Propati
United States
San Diego
California
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm attackng a fort that has a gray cube and two black cubes that are front and back which mean the black cube is protected!
If I roll two black flags and one white flag and use the two black flags cor the attack dice, does this mean I get to take both black cubes or just the one black cube and not the protected one?

Another example: a fort has three gray cubes on it with two of those stacked front and back. If I roll three gray flags does this mean I destroy tte fort because I destroyed the three gray cubes?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Vore
United States
Lebanon
Oregon
flag msg tools
Send me a trade offer!
badge
I WANT MY TWO DOLLARS!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Based on my understanding of the rules...

First example. If you take black you'd only destroy one black cube. The second is protected by the white cube.

Second example. You should be able to destroy all three cubes with that roll.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nicholas Vitek
United States
Houston
Texas
flag msg tools
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If the White cube is blocking one of the 2 black cubes, and the 2 black cubes are adjacent, then you can't destroy either one. The white cube is protecting the black cube and the 2 black cubes have to be destroyed together. So in example one, neither of your options is correct.

Second Example: Yes, since the 3 grey cubes are linked together, they have to be destroyed as a group. They would require 3 grey flags to destroy all at once.


*This is independent of the 'sniping' ability that happens after you choose a color.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Vore
United States
Lebanon
Oregon
flag msg tools
Send me a trade offer!
badge
I WANT MY TWO DOLLARS!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Nich wrote:
If the White cube is blocking one of the 2 black cubes, and the 2 black cubes are adjacent, then you can't destroy either one. The white cube is protecting the black cube and the 2 black cubes have to be destroyed together. So in example one, neither of your options is correct.

I forgot about that. I was wrong.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Manfredini
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
Check out Island Siege!
badge
Geekmail me for a Venture Forth promo!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Presuming this is what you mean:

tobacco (gray in front row)
coffeecoffee (black in back row)

Attacking with two black would result in the following:

tobacco
coffee

This corresponds to "CONNECTED AND PROTECTED EXAMPLE" in the rulebook on page 11.

Let me know if this is what you mean.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joseph Propati
United States
San Diego
California
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The white is not a cube but a dice roll!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joseph Propati
United States
San Diego
California
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No, actually it is a gray then a black next to it, then the other black is in front of the first black cube!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Manfredini
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
Check out Island Siege!
badge
Geekmail me for a Venture Forth promo!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sorry for the confusion...

Ok, so this is the setup:

coffeetobacco (black and gray in front row)
coffee (black in back row behind other black)

Attacking with two black would result in the following:

tobacco

This is similar to the first "CONNECTED AND PROTECTED EXAMPLE" in the rulebook on page 11. Cubes are destroyed one at a time, so the protected black cube would still be destroyed.

I hope that helps.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Vore
United States
Lebanon
Oregon
flag msg tools
Send me a trade offer!
badge
I WANT MY TWO DOLLARS!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I love when designers answer questions. Thanks Dan!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joseph Propati
United States
San Diego
California
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm confused, I thought the rules book said you can never destroy a protected cube on the first wave attack! Is this correct or did i miss something?
1 
 Thumb up
0.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Manfredini
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
Check out Island Siege!
badge
Geekmail me for a Venture Forth promo!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You are correct. However, the 'protected' black cube in back becomes immediately unprotected once the 'protector' cube in front is destroyed.

There is a small blurb about this under the protect cubes section on page 10:

Rulebook on page 10 wrote:
A protected cube may become unprotected during a first wave attack
because its “protector” is destroyed. In that case, it becomes vulnerable
to being destroyed during that wave.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joseph Propati
United States
San Diego
California
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hey Dan,
Have you had a chance to play through the Solitaire rules?!?!?
If so, what do you think?
I've actually played about 30 games and won about 5 with two losses coming from 20 or more coins! This brings up a question: Is there any way to cause a player to lose coins?
By the way, thanks for creating a really fun game! I thoroughly enjoy playing it solo and 2 player!!!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Manfredini
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
Check out Island Siege!
badge
Geekmail me for a Venture Forth promo!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I haven't had a chance to try them out yet, but they look interesting.

There are no ways to lose coins - this was done on purpose. The coins act as a timer for the game. Eventually someone will reach 20 coins. Having coin loss effects (or at least, too many of them) would create a volatile variation in the length in the game.

I'm glad you're having a fun time!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joseph Propati
United States
San Diego
California
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks,
Yes, especially Solitaire!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joseph Propati
United States
San Diego
California
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Question: You have a fort that has three white cubes that are stacked vertically down the fort. How does the Protection work when there is more than two cubes stacked? If you roll three white flags does this remove all three white cubes or is one of them left due to its protection?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Manfredini
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
Check out Island Siege!
badge
Geekmail me for a Venture Forth promo!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It destroys all of them.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joseph Propati
United States
San Diego
California
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So if The roll was only two white flag would it only take away the one white cube at the top of the stack?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Manfredini
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
Check out Island Siege!
badge
Geekmail me for a Venture Forth promo!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No, because there are three connected white cubes, you would need to roll at least three white symbols to remove any. Rolling two white would fail to damage the fort.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nicholas Vitek
United States
Houston
Texas
flag msg tools
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Front: sugar
Back: coffee coffee


2 Black Cubes rolled. This would result in nothing happening, correct? Or was there a clarification/exception made. I was always under the impression that since you can't destroy linked cubes exception at the same time (barring other rules), and since the White cube is blocking one of the black, the black cubes are safe until the white is destroyed?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Manfredini
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
Check out Island Siege!
badge
Geekmail me for a Venture Forth promo!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In the example Nik gave, if you attacked with two black dice, then you would overcome the connected rule but not the protected one. The unprotected cube would be destroyed, leaving just a black and a white cube.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nicholas Vitek
United States
Houston
Texas
flag msg tools
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks.

And a single black die would do nothing?


I much prefer the white cube protecting both the black. :)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls