Kurt Steiner
Canada
Montreal
Quebec
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Krang's Regenerate skill reads: "...and throw away a wound...".

Does this mean (as per the standard MK terminology):

[A] The wound is Healed permanently,

[B] The wound is Discarded into the discard pile, or;

[C] The wound is Thrown out of the game(!).

The skill's name would seem to imply [A], but it might be one of the others as well. That's the problem when reference wording is not used.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alison Mandible
United States
Cambridge
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Isn't "throw away" the standard wording for removing a card from your deck permanently? Maximal Effect uses it, as does Training.

You can use points of Healing to either remove Wounds from your units, or throw away Wounds from your hand. [A] and [C] are the same.
10 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kurt Steiner
Canada
Montreal
Quebec
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
[A] and [C] are not the same. The former puts the card into the blood pile the latter puts it into the game box (i.e. out of play entirely).

And I'm not sure your ruling is correct either...but thanks.

Like I say, it's a pain when accepted terminology isn't used.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Trevin Beattie
United States
Eugene
Oregon
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Base rules, page 10:

Quote:
throw away a Wound card from hand (return the Wound card to the Wounds pile).


It is the same.
12 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kurt Steiner
Canada
Montreal
Quebec
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Thank you!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben Kyo
Japan
Osaka
flag msg tools
Forward 1, Forward 2, Forward 3... siege attack 5?
badge
Why for this life there's no man smart enough, life's too short for learning every trick and bluff.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I assume throw away was used because regenerate does not does give you 'heal', which could could also be used for healing units.

Note that this is exactly how Arythea's Healing Ritual skill is worded, and is consistent with the use of throw away in the rest of the game.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Steynen
Belgium
Wilrijk
Antwerpen
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ulric12 wrote:
[A] and [C] are not the same. The former puts the card into the blood pile the latter puts it into the game box (i.e. out of play entirely).

And I'm not sure your ruling is correct either...but thanks.

Like I say, it's a pain when accepted terminology isn't used.

Since the wound pile is meant to be an infinite resource, they are functionally the same. Once your wound pile is empty you need to find proxies and those wound cards you threw in the box look like mighty fine proxies.
11 
 Thumb up
1.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.