Subject: Ploy, what is it? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Melvin Dale
United States
Chula Vista
California
flag msg tools
I am a student at MCLA in Mr. Latoni’s (El Hidalgo) gaming elective, and we are exploring new games that we’ve never played before. The game I selected was Ploy.

Ploy is the checkers and chess-like strategy game. The objective of the game is to eliminate your opponent(s) commander or all of his pieces. Pieces can only move along the path in line with the indicators originating from their centers in one direction. When I first open the box I saw two separate layouts that go together to create the board. The pieces go in a small box that is very easy to access. I suppose the game is simple, easy to play and setup, and looks like checkers. I’d rate my first impression of the game a 7 out of 10.

The game has several different components including rules, a box, playing pieces, and a game board. The box is easy to open and looks old with pictures on the surface. The board can be easily put together and isn’t very complex. The pieces go in a small box that is divided into 4 different sections for each of the colors. For a two player game each player gets 9 pieces, three players get 9 each and four players get 9 each. I would give the components a 9 out of 10.

When you open the box you will see the rules. They are two pages long, and aren’t very organized or clear. The rules look easy but aren’t easy to understand because they’re crowded and to close to each othershake. The game itself can be set up in 2-5 minute The objective of the game is to eliminate the opponent(s) king piece or all of their pieces. The game could take as little as 20 minutes or as long as an hour. The strategy is knowing when to move, what to move and when rotate a piece to change direction. I rate the box and rules 6 out of 10devil.