Hide
7 Posts

Thunderstone Advance: Numenera» Forums » General

Subject: A good starter if I cant get Towers of Ruin? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Andrew Neville
msg tools
I cant seem to find Towers of Ruin anywhere, I assume its wither between prints or OOP. Would this be a good place to start if I am just getting into Thunderstone? I know that there is a starter set but I hear bad things and this seems like it has more if I want to go forward.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joshua Danish
United States
Bloomington
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I love it and think it'd be a great entry point if you are AOK with the theme.

If you are hesitant on the theme, the next announced expansion, Worlds Collide, is traditional Thunderstone and also a standalone set due out in a few months. So that's a possible alternative if you can wait.

I have all the Advance sets except the starter set and am a big fan of all of it, for what that's worth!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Neville
msg tools
doctorwho wrote:
Depends on what you hope for. Mechanically it's a little more complicated than the regular Thunderstone Advance, still really good. Yet the theme is a mixture of Fantasy and SF - so if movies like Krull don't float your boat, you may dislike the theme a bit. That said, if you simply want to test the game you should buy the starter set. If you really like it, you'll buy all the sets eventually.

Well I haven't ever played TS, but I have played Ascension and form what I can tell people like TS more.. I have Dominion but haven't player it as of yet... Personally I like the Idea of Futuristic regressive as a theme. I just don't want to buy the starter and then move from there to something like this anyway, since this has a board etc. I would get Towers of Ruin but I cant seem to find it.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sam Ferdinand
United Kingdom

All Yanks are welcome!
flag msg tools
Cut here
badge