Peter O'Hanraha-Hanrahan
United Kingdom
Bristol
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The rules seem clear enough: the Containment Specialist can only do his or her special action (removing one cube without an action from a city with two or more cubes) when directed by others. It seems to me, then, that if CS plays without Dispatcher, he's not going to get very many opportunities to do this; only a couple of special event cards can move others. Compared to other characters' special actions the CS doesn't seem particularly powerful, and next to useless without his soulmate.

Am I interpreting this rule/role correctly?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
DC
United States
Grand Rapids
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
Fruit Eating Bear wrote:
The rules seem clear enough: the Containment Specialist can only do his or her special action (removing one cube without an action from a city with two or more cubes) when directed by others. It seems to me, then, that if CS plays without Dispatcher, he's not going to get very many opportunities to do this; only a couple of special event cards can move others. Compared to other characters' special actions the CS doesn't seem particularly powerful, and next to useless without his soulmate.

Am I interpreting this rule/role correctly?

The containment specialist has this power on their own turn as well as when directed by others.

Edit: From the rules: "When you enter a city, if 2 or more cubes of the same color are present, remove 1 of them." (No mention of whose turn this occurs on.) Then, Notes: This effect occurs even if this pawn is moved by another player..." (This is just clarifying that the effect occurs then in addition to on your own turn.)
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lloyd Butler
Australia
Bundaberg
Queensland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb

Containment Specialist:
- When you enter a city with 2 or more disease cubes of the same colour, remove one of them.

Dispatcher:
- Move another players pawn as if it were yours.
- As an action move any pawn to a city with another pawn.

I think the CS has his uses. He gets a free action so to speak when entering a city with 2 or more disease cubes in it. So, he is generally the one we would send in to help clear out potential outbreaks. Granted if the dispatcher were also in play it would make him better.

That being said, I think there are weaker roles than the CS even without the Dispatcher in play. The Field Operative for example isn't one of my favourites....
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter O'Hanraha-Hanrahan
United Kingdom
Bristol
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the reply, I appreciate it. The rules you have quoted, I see, are from the first iteration of OTB (rules here, http://files.meetup.com/3505482/Pandemic%20on%20the%20brink%...) and the key word there is 'even'. 'Even' if you're moved by someone else.
The rules I have, for v2 of OTB (rules here: http://zmangames.com/rulebooks/Pandemic_OTB.pdf) does not have that stipulation. Instead, it just says 'he does this when moved by others'. My take on that is that he can ONLY do it when moved by others.

I think I prefer v1's rule.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
DC
United States
Grand Rapids
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
Fruit Eating Bear wrote:
Thanks for the reply, I appreciate it. The rules you have quoted, I see, are from the first iteration of OTB (rules here, http://files.meetup.com/3505482/Pandemic%20on%20the%20brink%...) and the key word there is 'even'. 'Even' if you're moved by someone else.
The rules I have, for v2 of OTB (rules here: http://zmangames.com/rulebooks/Pandemic_OTB.pdf) does not have that stipulation. Instead, it just says 'he does this when moved by others'. My take on that is that he can ONLY do it when moved by others.

I think I prefer v1's rule.

It's not any different. In the v2 book, the definition of the Containment Specialist's special ability is: "When the Containment Specialist enters a city, if 2 or more disease cubes of the same color are present, he removes 1 of them." It happens whenever the player enters a city -- on their own turn, due to another's actions -- whenever.

The line you're quoting is just additional clarification: This is true even when players might not expect it to be true (when someone else moves you). It is true that this occurs when moved by others -- it is also true that it occurs when moved by the owner. There is no restrictive language which somehow makes this happen only on other player's turns.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls