Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Eminent Domain: Escalation» Forums » Rules

Subject: Scorched Earth Scenario, Scientific Method Questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Paul Nowak
United States
Greenville
Michigan
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
You have paid retail for the last time.
badge
The human race, to which so many of my readers belong, has been playing at children's games from the beginning, and will probably do it till the end, which is a nuisance for the few people who grow up. - GKC
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Three questions:

1) Scientific Method: If a player leads research as a role, and chooses Scientific Method as a tech, can he immediately research a second tech that role, provided he does not re-use any planets or research icons?

2) Scorched earth Scenario: Can the player conquer their starting planet with a warfare action/role their first turn? Scorched earth reduces costs by 2, but says to leave a fighter on the world.

3) With the Scorched Earth tech, is the cost to acquire a Destroyer reduced?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brad vanVugt
United States
Baltimore
MD
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1. I would think yes, as the card is active once put into play.

2. No. You have to have a fighter to leave on the planet when using Scorched Earth. You could still do it first turn though if you used your warfare card as your action to get a fighter, and then lead warfare to attack the planet.

3. No. The cost reduction only applies towards attacking planets.

Edit: totally wrong about #2. Had no clue the other fighter came from the supply! Thanks, Seth!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Seth Jaffee
United States
Tucson
Arizona
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
overtheboard wrote:
Three questions:

1) Scientific Method: If a player leads research as a role, and chooses Scientific Method as a tech, can he immediately research a second tech that role, provided he does not re-use any planets or research icons?
Yes, the card effect applies as soon as it enters play. That player could also spend the Research icon on Scientific Method on the second tech purchase.

Quote:
2) Scorched earth Scenario: Can the player conquer their starting planet with a warfare action/role their first turn? Scorched earth reduces costs by 2, but says to leave a fighter on the world.
Yes. The fighter left on the resource slot comes from the supply.

Quote:
3) With the Scorched Earth tech, is the cost to acquire a Destroyer reduced?
No, Scorched Earth reduces the Warfare costs of planets. This has nothing to do with acquiring a Destroyer.
7 
 Thumb up
0.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Seth Jaffee
United States
Tucson
Arizona
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
terpitude71 wrote:
2. No. You have to have a fighter to leave on the planet when using Scorched Earth. You could still do it first turn though if you used your warfare card as your action to get a fighter, and then lead warfare to attack the planet.
This is incorrect. The fighter left on the planet comes from the supply.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Nowak
United States
Greenville
Michigan
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
You have paid retail for the last time.
badge
The human race, to which so many of my readers belong, has been playing at children's games from the beginning, and will probably do it till the end, which is a nuisance for the few people who grow up. - GKC
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Does Scorched Earth also reduce fighter costs for research?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Seth Jaffee
United States
Tucson
Arizona
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
overtheboard wrote:
Does Scorched Earth also reduce fighter costs for research?
Quote:
No, Scorched Earth reduces the Warfare costs of planets. This has nothing to do with acquiring a Destroyer.
(It also has nothing to do with researching technologies)
3 
 Thumb up
0.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Troy Adlington
United States
Dallas
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Scorched Earth gives a Warfare discount of 2

Can you apply this to worlds that require a destroyer class or even a battle-cruiser class ship as your cost?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Seth Jaffee
United States
Tucson
Arizona
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Troymk1 wrote:
Scorched Earth gives a Warfare discount of 2

Can you apply this to worlds that require a destroyer class or even a battle-cruiser class ship as your cost?
No, Scorched Earth reduces the Warfare cost by 2 Fighters. This means nothing if the cost is 1 Destroyer.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Russell Rosin
United States
Delaware
flag msg tools
mb
sedjtroll wrote:
Troymk1 wrote:
Scorched Earth gives a Warfare discount of 2

Can you apply this to worlds that require a destroyer class or even a battle-cruiser class ship as your cost?
No, Scorched Earth reduces the Warfare cost by 2 Fighters. This means nothing if the cost is 1 Destroyer.

This came up in a game on Saturday. I figured if the -2 applied to Destroyer and Battlecruiser costs for planets, it would be stupidly overpowered.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Seth Jaffee
United States
Tucson
Arizona
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Raithnor wrote:
sedjtroll wrote:
Troymk1 wrote:
Scorched Earth gives a Warfare discount of 2

Can you apply this to worlds that require a destroyer class or even a battle-cruiser class ship as your cost?
No, Scorched Earth reduces the Warfare cost by 2 Fighters. This means nothing if the cost is 1 Destroyer.

This came up in a game on Saturday. I figured if the -2 applied to Destroyer and Battlecruiser costs for planets, it would be stupidly overpowered.
The logic check is always a good weapon to have handy
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls