27 Posts
1 , 2  Next »   | 

BoardGameGeek» Forums » Gaming Related » Recommendations

Subject: New wanna be gamer with small family. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
amer unis
msg tools
Could anyone recommend a good gaming table to purchase. I saw some at game chic website but a long wait time.

I ordered a wood fold up table 32 by 32 inches from Amazon for now and will get some chairs from Costco.

Would this size work for games such as Settlers? (i have not bought this game yet.

secondly, seems like settlers is the game to start with? and I am a newbie.

what would you recommend for a family of three?. My son is 8.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Beachler
United States
Woodburn
OR
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
First off welcome to the best gamer website in the universe. cool

It sounds like you are planning on investing a good bit in games and all, your table may work alright for now though really there are a lot of games that could take up more room than that.

Settlers is a game that many know but really it isn't quite the best of the best because it is very dependent on the dice in the early going. Other good starter games would be Carcassonne, Ticket to Ride and Forbidden Island. They should all be easy enough for an 8 year old to grasp to start though there are of course kids versions of Carcassonne and Settlers too.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Troy hoggan
United States
Utah
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
My son is 11 and he really enjoys Legendary:Marvel A Deck Building Game
Puzzle Strike
Eight Minute Empires Legend
Dungeon Roll
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
amer unis
msg tools
actually we have a son, and he is 8. So just the three of us.

Thanks for the leads guys !!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thomas Dunagan
United States
Clermont
GA
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I would highly recommend Forbidden Island as well. It's a great bang for your buck game. ~$15 on Amazon