Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

A Game of Thrones: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Can Renly's Courtier save Highgarden Refugee rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dan Verret
Canada
Laval
Quebec
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Renly's Courtier: "Any Phase: kneel to choose non-unique character. Until the end of the phase, treat it as printed box were blank (except traits)"

Highgarden Refugee: "If you do not win dominance, pay 1 gold or discard it from play"

I don't have gold and I lost dominance. Can I use Renly's Courtier to blank the text of Highgarden Refugee so it is not discard ?

Since Highgarden refugee is a passive ability, does its ability come back after dominance phase and I must discard Highgarden Refugee because I didn't win dominance?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Bindas
United States
Renton
Washington
flag msg tools
I don't think so. Renly's Courtier is a triggered ability, not a response. The only player framework in the dominance phase is after dominance is rewarded. So Highgarden Refugee will trigger during step 4 of the "reward dominance" framework window.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Clayton Threadgill
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Highgarden Refugee's ability is a triggered effect, so it must be resolved when the trigger condition is met. Renly's Courtier is not a response or interrupt ability, so it can only be used during a player action window. By the time there is a player action window open during the dominance phase, the Refugee must have already resolved.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls