Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Medici vs Strozzi» Forums » Rules

Subject: Loading a boat for Zero money rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Fake Name
United States
Dist of Columbia
flag msg tools
Is it permissible to buy/load your boat for no money? Suppose player A has only one slot open on one boat. Player B has three slots open on one of his boats. Can player B draw more than one tile, but put a price of zero on them, and claim the auction? The rules say that you cannot bid on more tiles than you have slots for, so does this prevent player A from buying the load and dumping it in the ocean (because he does not have enough slots)?

Edit: a better way of phrasing this question is, can you prevent your opponent from bidding and buying by drawing more tiles from the bag than he has space to place them on his boats, or does he always have the option of bidding and buying and just dumping the whole load (since it won't fit on any of his boats)?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Gray
United States
Watertown
Connecticut
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
edit: better answer below!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy W
United States
Wheatfield
New York
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The auctioneer can grab more tiles than the opponent has open slots (as long as the auctioneer has space) and auction them.

They can put a zero bid in, but the opponent still has the option of paying the offered price and discarding the tiles.

I think the key part in the rules, under Special Cases on page 3, is that you can buy and place all of them on one ship or alternatively a player may decide to discard the entire set of tiles he bought without loading them.

This allows for accepting a bid, even if you don't have space, and discarding the tiles. The auctioneer may still offer a bid of zero, but it's unlikely the opponent will let them win with that offer.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fake Name
United States
Dist of Columbia
flag msg tools
dragontrainer wrote:
The auctioneer can grab more tiles than the opponent has open slots (as long as the auctioneer has space) and auction them.

They can put a zero bid in, but the opponent still has the option of paying the offered price and discarding the tiles.

I think the key part in the rules, under Special Cases on page 3, is that you can buy and place all of them on one ship or alternatively a player may decide to discard the entire set of tiles he bought without loading them.

This allows for accepting a bid, even if you don't have space, and discarding the tiles. The auctioneer may still offer a bid of zero, but it's unlikely the opponent will let them win with that offer.

So, Andy, your answer is that any player CAN bid on and buy more tiles than he has slots for, and these will be dumped automatically?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Dommett
United Kingdom
Ipswich
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
So, Andy, your answer is that any player CAN bid on and buy more tiles than he has slots for, and these will be dumped automatically?

Correct. However, the player taking tiles from the bag may not *draw* more than will fit on at least one of *his* boats.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls