Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
16 Posts

Friday» Forums » Rules

Subject: Collecting all Hazarad cards before 3rd phase? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
JATL
United States
Atlanta
Georgia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
What happens if you collect/defeat all of the hazards before the 3rd phase starts?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Karl Bunyan
United Kingdom
London
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It's mathematically impossible to do so.
13 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Radosław Michalak
Poland
Bytom
flag msg tools
Gaming is for having fun. Fun requires clear rules.
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You must have at least 7 cards for 3rd step.
If not you played it wrong.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
JATL
United States
Atlanta
Georgia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
What if you defeat all of the hazards period. Whether in the yellow or red phase?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Justin
United States
Lincoln
Nebraska
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
MrGurbic wrote:
What if you defeat all of the hazards period. Whether in the yellow or red phase?

I think you must have a rule wrong.

You always draw 2 hazards, discard one, fight the other.

As Karl said, it's mathematically impossible to defeat all the hazards. You must be drawing one hazard at a time to be having the problem your asking about.
12 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bob Duclos
United States
Orem
Utah
flag msg tools
Who ya gonna call?
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Read Achilles and the Tortoise.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Zeno's_paradoxes#Achilles_and_the_tortoise

edit: That apostrophe is breaking my link. You'll have to cut and paste like it's 1997.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
JATL
United States
Atlanta
Georgia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yep, I only drew 2 hazard cards at start of the game and then only 1 for the rest of the game.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
JATL
United States
Atlanta
Georgia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ghostbusterbob wrote:
Read Achilles and the Tortoise.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Zeno's_paradoxes#Achilles_and_the_tortoise

edit: That apostrophe is breaking my link. You'll have to cut and paste like it's 1997.
That is no help at all.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Brown
United States
Westfield
Indiana
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
You always draw two hazard cards, choose to fight 1 and discard the other. Also if you lose a fight (and you will), you discard that hazard card too.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bob Duclos
United States
Orem
Utah
flag msg tools
Who ya gonna call?
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Upon re-reading, the Dichotomy paradox is more applicable. At most, you can defeat half (plus one) of the cards in the deck, meaning that you cannot run out of cards in the deck in three rounds.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Karl Bunyan
United Kingdom
London
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
MrGurbic wrote:
Yep, I only drew 2 hazard cards at start of the game and then only 1 for the rest of the game.
That's where the problem is - you always draw 2 and choose to fight 1 of them, and put the other in the discard pile. At best you can only defeat half of the hazard cards in the pile (and that won't happen anyway).

The only exception is if there's only 1 card left in the hazard draw pile then you choose to fight it or not before you move onto the next phase.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Russ Williams
Poland
Wrocław
Dolny Śląsk
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
MrGurbic wrote:
What happens if you collect/defeat all of the hazards before the 3rd phase starts?
The same thing that happens if you create a triangle with 5 sides, or prove that 1+1=17...
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob Rob
United States
Tampa
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
MrGurbic wrote:
ghostbusterbob wrote:
Read Achilles and the Tortoise.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Zeno's_paradoxes#Achilles_and_the_tortoise

edit: That apostrophe is breaking my link. You'll have to cut and paste like it's 1997.
That is no help at all.
The allusion to Zeno's Paradox is like Achilles racing the Tortoise, you never quite get to zero. Green step you capture half the hazards (or less). Yellow step you capture half the remaining hazards (or less). Red step you capture half the remaining hazards (or less). You never reach zero.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
The Shader
msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
russ wrote:
MrGurbic wrote:
What happens if you collect/defeat all of the hazards before the 3rd phase starts?
The same thing that happens if you create a triangle with 5 sides, or prove that 1+1=17...

Douglas Adams wrote a pretty good five book trilogy
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryan Carpenter
United Kingdom
Haverhill
Suffolk
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Granger44 wrote:
Also if you lose a fight (and you will), you discard that hazard card too.

Really? Oh bum! I've been playing completely wrong. And losing badly to boot! blush
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark L
United Kingdom
Belfast
Northern Ireland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
jobby wrote:
Granger44 wrote:
Also if you lose a fight (and you will), you discard that hazard card too.

Really? Oh bum! I've been playing completely wrong. And losing badly to boot! blush
You probably know all this, but just to be clear: hazard cards that are discarded in this manner -- either because you chose not to fight them or because you lost the fight -- do not go in your Robinson discard pile (with the cards you drew to try and defeat the hazard). They go in a separate hazard discard pile.

When there are no hazard cards left in the draw pile, you shuffle the hazard discard pile and that becomes the hazard draw pile for the next phase of the game.

When you successfully defeat a hazard card, that card does go in your Robinson discard pile (with the cards you drew to defeat the hazard).
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls