Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Drew Duke
United States
Edmond
OK
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm very new to the hobby and could use some insight. For whatever reason, I seem to be drawn to several of the Queen Games titles. I backed the Fresco Big Box kickstarter but have worries about it. It seems like several of their KS projects come back with review mentioning missing pieces, poorly printed items, poor communication, etc. It could be that only the few that have problems are posting comments, but it seems to happen across the board. I'm wondering if seasoned veterans scoff at Queen Games? Or, are the problems inevitable and seem bigger than they appear.

The reason I ask is that I'm interested in the new Kingdom Builder KS project and I'm considering buying the Alhambra Big Box. Both would be large purchases for me and I need to get them out of my head if Queen is poor to deal with.

Again, I'd appreciate any insight. So many of you have already been so helpful...I really appreciate it.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rick Vinyard
United States
Las Cruces
NM
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Friends and myself have bought a number of Queen's games through the years and have never had a problem.

I've always considered their production values to be some of the highest.

Games of theirs that I own that have what I would consider to be good production values include Thebes, Wallenstein (first edition), Samarkand: Routes to Riches, Kingdom Builder, Dark Darker Darkest, Chicago Express + expansion, Shogun, and Rat Hot.

I think Thebes is one of the all time great games. We've had a lot of fun digging in the sand for the great treasures of antiquity.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Curt Carpenter
United States
Kirkland
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
They sell zillions of games for a reason. Don't worry about it. You're fine.