Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

No Retreat! The Russian Front» Forums » Rules

Subject: Questions about the Balkans and the Oil units rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
United States
Virginia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So, I'm not sure I understand the meaning of the note:

Quote:
Note that the Axis player can position his units in such a manner
that one of these Yugoslavian armies must arrive in an untenable
stacking situation and thus be immediately eliminated; this is
intentional and allowed.

It seems to imply that if the German player places a unit in the Western Balkans, it forces the two Yugoslavian fortresses to overstack in the Southern Balkans. Especially since it seems unlikely to me that a Soviet Unit would have sprinted on ahead to the Balkans immediately after taking the oil fields which are 4 hexes away.

But near as I can tell, it's not actually illegal for two fortresses to stack, and the Balkans don't have any special stacking rules preventing 2 units from the same side from being there.

If I missed something, or am reading too much into the note, let me know. This has me scratching my head a bit.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carl Paradis
Canada
Québec City
Québec
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You are partly right.

Check the Stacking Rules (8.4.1):

[8.4.1] Stacking Limits: The Axis may stack up to two units
per hex. The Soviets can have only one unit per hex until
Turn 11 (when they get their Tank Advance Bonus (10.8.2
& 13.5)): at that time they can stack the “Tank” units with
any other unit, but not with Fortifications; then in 1945
they can stack any two units per hex.


If Ploesti is captured before 1945 (triggering the Yugoslav unit placement), the Soviet (and Allies) stacking for units that are not Tanks is limited to one unit per hex... SO one could be eliminated by overstacking.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Virginia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That would be what I missed. And I only realize now that despite the numerous times I read it, I completely misparsed the Russian stacking rule.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carl Paradis
Canada
Québec City
Québec
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Namrok wrote:
That would be what I missed. And I only realize now that despite the numerous times I read it, I completely misparsed the Russian stacking rule.

One unit per hex until 1945, but starting Turn 11 you can stack two as the Germans if one unit is a Tank (but with fortifications).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls