Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Star Trek: Fleet Captains» Forums » Rules

Subject: control and building outposts/colony/starbases rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Doug Thompson
United States
Thomson
Georgia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Just bought the game. My two sons and I played for the first time tonight. Got "most" of the rules, we think. Let's see if I can ask clearly enough what we didn't understand...

1. you have to spend an action to control at one location.
2. you have to have one control to build an outpost.
3. you have to spend an action to have a second control at one location.
4. you have to have two controls to build a colony.
5. you have to spend an action to have a third control at one location.
6. you have to have three controls to build a starbase, score 2vp if it's your first base.

Is that 6 separate turns?

Some locations say it costs 1+ control to build. So is that 2 controls to build the outpost, 3 for the colony, 4 for the starbase?

Some locations say it cost -1 control to build. So is that 0 controls to build the outpost, 2 for the colony, 3 for the starbase?

Thanks, in advance!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Travis Williams
United States
Stockton
CA
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Thats sounds right.

love thisgame alot. have npt played in a while.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Luke Heidebrecht
Canada
Saskatoon
Saskatchewan
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
dough54321 wrote:

1. you have to spend an action to control at one location.
2. you have to have one control to build an outpost.
3. you have to spend an action to have a second control at one location.
4. you have to have two controls to build a colony.
5. you have to spend an action to have a third control at one location.
6. you have to have three controls to build a starbase, score 2vp if it's your first base.

This is correct.

dough54321 wrote:
Is that 6 separate turns?

Since you have three possible actions in any given turn this process could in theory be done by bringing 3 different ships to the same location in 2 turns.

dough54321 wrote:
Some locations say it costs 1+ control to build. So is that 2 controls to build the outpost, 3 for the colony, 4 for the starbase?

Some locations say it cost -1 control to build. So is that 0 controls to build the outpost, 2 for the colony, 3 for the starbase?

First is correct. -1 would mean no control to build an outpost, 1 for a colony and 2 for the star base... I think, not looking at the rules right now.

Hope that is helpful!
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave, or "Phineas" or "Tolstoy" or,
United States
Mount Holly
North Carolina
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I believe all the above responses are correct.

A side note: with a -1 cost to build, you can build an outpost there with no control tokens, but it will technically belong to neither side until someone places a control token.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Doug Thompson
United States
Thomson
Georgia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
so, if I were thinking a strategy to earn VP points, since the first one I build is +2 (according to the rules in the Romulan expansion)... then I should dedicate my weakest ship to building a starbase, right?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Travis Williams
United States
Stockton
CA
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
I have done that in the past. I mostly base my strategy on the amount of ship I have and type.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls