Popular Tags: [View All]
Ben Goulding
United Kingdom
Nottingham
flag msg tools
badge
What a productive day!
mbmbmbmbmb
I would like a few suggestions for some games that would fit into the categories I have. I already have some ideas, I thought I would ask here incase there might be something I've missed and would be worth a look.

I'm relatively new to board gaming, but I've managed to get my girlfriend and a couple of other friends into it as well. In terms of complexity we're comfortable with 7 Wonders and Cosmic Encounter so anything around that level (or even a step up) would be considered.

First up, I would like to add a co-operative game to my collection. I know Pandemic is the usual go-to suggestion, but I've had my eye instead on Flash Point: Fire Rescue. I've tried Pandemic and the theme didn't really grab me (I didn't get much of a feeling of tension or drama from it), but everything I've read about Flash Point makes me want it more.

Secondly I'm thinking of something ideal for 2 players that's quick to set-up that the girlfriend and I can play. I was thinking about Carcassone for this (and it can accomodate more players) or Lost Cities.

Finally is a game suitable as an after-dinner game. Something light on rules, plays quickly and suitable for my "we don't really like board games" parents. They can (just about) cope with The Resistance: Avalon but find it really enjoyable, so something similar would be nice.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeffrey L.
United States
Western Burbs of Beantown
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Legends of Andor is my favourite co-op I have tried.

Carcassonne, lost cities, Ra the dice game,agricola all creatures big and small for 2 player games.

Love Letter or Augustus for after dinner quickie.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Shane Larsen
United States
Salt Lake City
UT
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
For your co-op, look at these:

Ghost Stories - Hard, but truly unique in the category.