Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Darrin Miedema
United States
Des Moines
Iowa
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hey BGG community! This is my first post to a forum of any kind, so hopefully you guys won't let me down.

I'm pretty new to this crazy world of board gaming. I've played Ticket to Ride and Settlers hundreds of times and love them both, but probably prefer settlers because each individual decision has more impact. The strategy feels deeper. Recently, I bought King of Tokyo, Carcassonne, and The Resistance to try to get more of my friends in to gaming with some lighter games. (Not that TTR and Settlers are heavy...but for people who don't think they like games they seem heavy) I've been reading reviews and rule books and am gearing up to make a purchase for some more games, probably 4 or 5 with a budget of under $150.

I'm trying to keep my wife, and my group of friends in mind. It's a diverse group, with some who will love deep strategy, and others who need lighter, crazy/fun games. I'd like all the games to scratch a different itch. I personally am drawn to strategy. I was REALLY excited to get Caylus, and right before I was ready to pull the trigger, CSI ran out and they said it's now out of print. So...I need some help deciding as this will be the last order I place for some time, and I want all of these games to be big hits (obviously).

Here's the list I'm working from (based on what's available on CSI). Please rank and explain why, and also offer other suggestions. I'm not just looking for a ranking of which games are the best, but which games go the best together in an almost bare game collection.

Puerto Rico
Agricola
Castles of Burgundy
Power Grid
Pandemic
Small World
Cosmic Encounter
Survive: Escape from Atlantis

I also was really wanting Lords of Waterdeep and Caylus, but both are unavailable on CSI currently. If you're feeling really ambitious, you could tell me where you think these would fit in your ranking.

THANKS!!!
 Thumb up
 tip