Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

The Hunters: German U-Boats at War, 1939-43» Forums » Rules

Subject: My Newest Question--I need help rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mike Barksdale
United States
Glenwood Springs
Colorado
flag msg tools
mb
So, I'm back. I keep running into problem after problem after problem. Here's my new rule I need a ruling on (that was a gay sentence, if ever there was one). If I attack and damage a ship on attack number 1, survive the crap thrown at me by the escort in that attack, continue into attack 2, MISS, avoid detection again and then want a third attack, does the escort have the possibility of leaving the stricken ship even though I completely missed in turn #2? Another way of phrasing that question might be, "Mike is on meth". Another way of phrasing it might be, "Do you have to HIT the friggin' boat every turn that you roll if the escort leaves"? Still another way might be to ask, "Even though the escort decided to stick with it, (people should know when they're conquered, Maximus), can it elect to leave the area after a turn with misses?"

The way I played it, was to go ahead and roll--and for once in my life, I rolled a 5 and the friggin' escort left. I rationalized said decision by saying that they left because they were a French escort and at the first sign of trouble, surrendered to the nearest port of entry that they could come to, joined the Vichy, begged for American help and then badmouthed America all while I was blowing the ship in their charge the hell off planet Earth). I don't think it was an egregious violation of the rules if you guys think I screwed up...however, it seems certainly possible to me that I was right because the way I read the rules, it said that as long as there is that checkmark by the boat (i.e. it was damaged), you rolled for the possibility that the escort fled. I further rationalized this decision by having a lengthy conversation with my bong and Budweiser and decided that I was right and it was obvious that French escorts would ALWAYS surrender. (That point is made very clear in the rule book of life under subsection D, paragraph 9.)

So, what do you think? Can I get a ruling? (Except from any Frenchmen, you're excused).
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chick Lewis
United States
Claremont
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You played it correctly to my understanding of the rules. Every time you follow damaged ships, there is a chance that the escort has abandoned them.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Geoff C
Canada
BC
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'd like to help, but I don't have a clue what you are trying to say.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rick McKown
Canada
Spruce Grove
Alberta
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Attack #1 = original attack, inflicted damage, detected, survived escort attack, evaded, repaired damage.

Attack #2 = followed damaged ship (automatic), rolled 1-4 and found ship was still under escort, attacked, inflicted no damage, not detected.

Attack #3 = followed damaged ship again (automatic), rolled 5 and found the escort had departed (for whatever reason), can now attack unescorted ship on surface, etc, which could even result in additional rounds of combat (at the risk of having that escort come back and thump you).

Check out the wording of 9.7.10 in the updated rules--as long as you attack with at least one torpedo (doesn't say you have to hit, just attack) the encounter continues--if you had opted not to make Attack #2, however, then the encounter would have ended at that point.

BTW, the Free French escorts that served with the Royal Navy were highly regarded; they served in Escort Group B3 with the Mid-Ocean Escort Force, which was a mixed group of Polish, British and French ships. Harsh reality is that the escort groups did not have enough ships to escort every straggler, and higher priority had to be given to protecting the main body of the convoy.
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Barksdale
United States
Glenwood Springs
Colorado
flag msg tools
mb
(All kidding aside, ANYONE that served in the Battle of Atlantic, regardless of side, had trouble walking because of the massive size of their testicles. French, German, Trinidadian, North Polian, they are all amazing).

If you guys are having trouble following it's pretty simple what I'm asking is, if you damage the ship, do you ALWAYS, EVERY TURN, IRREGARDLESS OF HITS, have a chance that the escort can leave the field?

Attack 1: You hit the friggin' boat. It stays escorted
Attack 2: You miss the friggin' boat. It does NOT stay escorted. (If you MISS do you get the chance that the escort will LEAVE here? It seemed MODERATELY weird the escort elected to leave AFTER it stayed. Do you see what I'm saying? That's the rule question.
Attack 3: You just submerge and hammer the thingy with the deck gun.

Got it? It's not quantum physics. That's if it was too difficult to follow.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ian Wedge
United Kingdom
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The rule says that you roll after Following to see if any damaged ships are still escorted. Not hit ships, damaged ships. Your target hasn't been repaired, it still has a status of damaged. Therefore yes, I think you do get to roll to see if it is still escorted. Bear in mind this next attack may be several hours later. The escort may have taken off all bar a skeleton crew and rejoined the convoy, it may have got seperated during the night or a heavy squall, it may even have gone off hunting you and got it so badly wrong it's over the horizon depth charging a whale.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dennis Canning
United States
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
Mike - I interpret the rules as you roll to see if the escort leaves after each torp attack. Thus, you played it correctly.

Now, in terms if your last post, I think you have a bit of a problem and lost some of your crew. To wit, "Attack 3: You just submerge and hammer the thingy with the deck gun." It is difficult for the crew to hold their breath, aim the deck gun, and fire it underwater. And the range is quite limited. It is better practice to surface and fire the deck gun. Of course, that is after there are no escorts...cool
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack Beckman
United States
Sterling Heights
Michigan
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The responses here are all correct. You do not have to *hit* the target to continue to Follow it. You just have to make an attack, successful or not. The Escort may leave after any Follow attempt; they may be called away to protect a higher-priority target, they might be low on fuel/ammo, etc.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.