Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Red November» Forums » Rules

Subject: Timing of events rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Robert Menzies

Montreal
Qu├ębec
msg tools
So here's the situation.

A player starts her turn at 55 minutes in the engine room. She has one item and decides to go to the equipment store to get some more. She draws two. The ghost marker is moved ahead five minutes (three for movement and two for drawing items).

The first event drawn, at the 54-minute space, is Stumble, causing her to discard back down to one item. However, at 54 minutes, she was still moving through the sub. Does it make sense for her to have to discard items that she hadn't even yet picked up when she stumbled?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
SoCal
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Eelskin wrote:
So here's the situation.

A player starts her turn at 55 minutes in the engine room. She has one item and decides to go to the equipment store to get some more. She draws two. The ghost marker is moved ahead five minutes (three for movement and two for drawing items).

The first event drawn, at the 54-minute space, is Stumble, causing her to discard back down to one item. However, at 54 minutes, she was still moving through the sub. Does it make sense for her to have to discard items that she hadn't even yet picked up when she stumbled?
From what I recall, you do all the actions in sequence, and THEN move the white marker down to resolve the events, so in your case...

55 start of turn
54 move 1
53 move 1
52 move 1
50 draw 2 from Equipment stores

then you move the white marker from 55 down to 50 to reflect for the stuff that happened. You get to 54, Stumble, and NOW you discard down to 1.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Nerman
Canada
Winnipeg
Manitoba
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm not sure you could say that that "makes sense", but it is how the game works. Time is somewhat abstracted for simplicity sake; it would be a headache, otherwise. What if the Stumble event had happened in the middle of getting the items? You'd have to keep track of which items she got when if you were going to play the other way.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pasi Ojala
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools
Get the Imperial Assault Campaign module for Vassal from http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Module:Star_Wars:_Imperial_Assault
badge
The next Total Solar Eclipse holiday in 2024 in USA? See you there!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Eelskin wrote:
Does it make sense for her to have to discard items that she hadn't even yet picked up when she stumbled?

The time track only tracks passage or time for each character separately, not when things happen. When multiple characters move and make actions, what happens is already not causal, if you try to note down and compare 'real time' timestamps. I.e. a door can be fixed or fire put out after you move into that room, and the door is no longer jammed or there no longer is fire.

So, when the Stumble happened, she had the items. That is how the time track works, and it is something you have to take into account and manage.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.