Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Elder Sign» Forums » Rules

Subject: Yog-Sothoth Loophole? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Adam Fox
Australia
Geelong
Victoria
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
So I was playing Elder Sign today with a bunch of friends. We decided to face up against Yog-Sothoth, who (as we understand it) awakens when the Other World deck is depleted. During the course of the game, the Mythos card named 'The Arcane Art' came up, which states that at midnight, discard all Other World cards and remove them from play. As we understood it, this triggered Yog-Sothoth awakening early with only 4 HP.

Is this correct or did we go wrong somewhere?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rauli Kettunen
Finland
Oulu
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
First off, did the Mythos card say "Other World cards in play" or something like that? Second, more crucially:

"If an effect awakens the Ancient One before the doom track is
full, place doom tokens on all the remaining empty spaces of the
doom track." (p. 19)
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The Arcane Art discards the Other World cards in play. It does not affect the ones still in the Other World deck, so Yog Sothoth would not have awakened.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam Fox
Australia
Geelong
Victoria
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Ah k, because it stated *all* Other World cards, it doesn't mention 'in play' and I couldn't find further clarification online
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam Fox
Australia
Geelong
Victoria
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Dam the Man wrote:
First off, did the Mythos card say "Other World cards in play" or something like that? Second, more crucially:

"If an effect awakens the Ancient One before the doom track is
full, place doom tokens on all the remaining empty spaces of the
doom track." (p. 19)


Ah, nice. I was not aware of that rule. Thanks for that. I figured something went wrong somewhere
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark L
United Kingdom
Belfast
Northern Ireland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
Rauli and Jorgen are both correct. Although the card doesn't make it very clear, when it says "discard all Other World Adventure cards from play" it means this applies only to those that are currently in play.

If it meant to remove all the Other World cards for the rest of the game, it would say to return the deck to the game box (like the Mythos card "Alone..." from the expansion).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam Fox
Australia
Geelong
Victoria
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
xipuloxx wrote:
Rauli and Jorgen are both correct. Although the card doesn't make it very clear, when it says "discard all Other World Adventure cards from play" it means this applies only to those that are currently in play.

If it meant to remove all the Other World cards for the rest of the game, it would say to return the deck to the game box (like the Mythos card "Alone..." from the expansion).


Yeah, the wording seems a bit off, but discard is indeed different to remove. We've followed that idea in games since. Thanks for the clarification guys!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.