Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Disc Duelers» Forums » Rules

Subject: Mind control rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
King of the Wood
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mb
several cards (characters and items) allow a player to make an attack with the character that was just hit (has that puppet string board icon on card).

So does this attack also allow use of a characters special ability too or is it just a basic attack?

Same goes for controlling a characters movement.

you see some cards like Mind control ray say' if attack hits make 1 attack action with the disc you hit'. Note it says disc not character.

But cursed doll item says' make an attack with another character. you control all effects of that characters attack'. Note it uses the word character and mentions all effects...

so I would appreciate some guidance on this
cheers
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Shaun Cooley
United States
Evansville
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The terms "disc" and "character" are often used interchangeably in the game, and this appears to be one of those scenarios.

As far as item effects, I have played that if the ability would normally take effect (such as the Stun Rod unreadying a character it hits), then it would still take effect. If it is a choice (such as passing the dynamite on a successful attack), then you would only control that if specified (like with the cursed doll).

For characters effects, same thing, although it can be a little complicated. If you mind control Oriana, she would still do +1 damage for knocking a disc off the table. But if you mind control Hepzibah, for example, Hepzibah would regain 1 life after her successful attack, not the controlling character. If you mind control Tanis, her "owner" would get the benefit of the additional move and effect she causes on the card she hit (unless you're using the cursed doll, then you would control the character tanis hit as well).
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brad Talton
United States
New Mexico
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
(╯‵Д′)╯彡┻━┻
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
When you are controlling a character, you may choose to use (or not use) any items, special powers, or etc that are relevant to the character.

For example, if Hikaru has a Ray Gun, you could Mind Control him and use it. However, if he had a missile (which requires 2 actions), you couldn't use it because you only control him for 1 action. Same for potions--you could force him to drink a potion, but then he would take the extra actions himself, you wouldn't control those.

Same goes for powers. If you Mind Control Iaxus, you couldn't put your hand on the table, because that only triggers at the start of the turn. But you could Mind Control Arec and use him to attack and control ANOTHER character, etc.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Shaun Cooley
United States
Evansville
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So is there a reason for the different wording on cursed doll that specifically states you control all effects, when mind control ray does not say it?

Or is it just because there was more room on cursed doll since it didn't need to explain you have to hit with it first?

Also, for effects on the card such as Hepzibah's life gain, would that be something the mind-controlling player can choose NOT to activate?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brad Talton
United States
New Mexico
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
(╯‵Д′)╯彡┻━┻
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
benstylus wrote:
So is there a reason for the different wording on cursed doll that specifically states you control all effects, when mind control ray does not say it?

Or is it just because there was more room on cursed doll since it didn't need to explain you have to hit with it first?

Also, for effects on the card such as Hepzibah's life gain, would that be something the mind-controlling player can choose NOT to activate?


No specific reason. And yes, you could choose not to use any power that you wish on the character you are controlling.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.