Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Island Siege» Forums » Rules

Subject: Ship cards are NOT needed to attack rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dan Manfredini
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
Check out Island Siege!
badge
Geekmail me for a Venture Forth promo!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi everybody!

I just wanted to make an official post here to clarify a part of the Island Siege rules that a lot of people have been mis-playing:

You can always attack in Island Siege - you do not need any ships cards in play.

Ship cards represent special ships in your fleet and offer abilities. The wooden fleet token represents your attack force - which is why you place that in front of a fort to attack.

Part of this confusion may have arisen from some early videos that show a starting ship card. This card was removed and merged into the player placard in favor of a fleet token. Sorry for any confusion!

Have fun!

~ Dan

5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Vore
United States
Lebanon
Oregon
flag msg tools
Send me a trade offer!
badge
I WANT MY TWO DOLLARS!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
My wife had this same confusion after playing the PnP during the campaign, the imperial card represents the basic vanilla fleet is how I teach it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Birkoff
Denmark
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I have another ship related question:
What happens if a ship loses all of its crew?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Manfredini
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
Check out Island Siege!
badge
Geekmail me for a Venture Forth promo!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
birkoff wrote:
I have another ship related question:
What happens if a ship loses all of its crew?


Nothing special.

I think there is only one card that removes colonists from ships, and I didn't add any special case for that situation.

Thematically, let's just say the captain never abandons his ship.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Birkoff
Denmark
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Dan Manfredini wrote:
birkoff wrote:
I have another ship related question:
What happens if a ship loses all of its crew?


Nothing special.

I think there is only one card that removes colonists from ships, and I didn't add any special case for that situation.

Thematically, let's just say the captain never abandons his ship.


Thank you for your quick response.

Just to be perfectly clear, if a ship has no colonists on it, you keep it in front of you and can still use the ability it gives?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Manfredini
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
Check out Island Siege!
badge
Geekmail me for a Venture Forth promo!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Correct. It stays until someone destroy it.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.