Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Rockwell» Forums » Rules

Subject: More first play questions. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Tyrone ..................
United States
Salt Lake City
Utah
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hello, so after playing last night and reading the earlier questions I still was not sure about these:

1)Does a player have to place 1 pawn at each of the mine entrances at the start of the game or could they place multiples next to one another?

2)How exactly does a player reach the center of the Earth? Can it just be that I move a crew to level D, would they have to announce a move actually onto the center, or is it accomplished by drilling in layer D and could this be to where a player has not drilled from A to D in succession and only drilled in layer D? It appears a player could just move down to it and then move onto the center and this can be done without having to drill.

3)Each mine cart that the orange pawn is moved to is considered a drilling round. So 1 bribe or subcontractor could be bought/used in each of those up to the amount of tokens/dice that are available or the players money?

4)For the Phase 3 events the player priority is from left to right and not based on the Control Board order from Phase I, correct?

Thank you for the answers and for the FAQ.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bruno Crépeault
Canada
Val-d'Or
Québec
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hello again, and thanks for playing !

1) 1 drill crew pawn is placed on each of the mine entrances. This is
part of the initial setup for the game.

2) You are correct. In theory, a player could "sacrifice" early one drill crew
by sending it to the center of the Earth. That would take exactly
5 drilling rounds (from mine entrance to stratum A, then B, then C,
then D, then center).

Although that would give the player an Achievement tile, it also
eliminates that crew (it is put back into the box), so you'd be left
with only 3 drill crews for the rest of the game ! So you better do
that in good time !

3) You are correct again, but don't forget that a player only has access
to those advantages if he placed a VP on the appropriate side of Board I
(spots '1' and '2' allow access to Bribery, while spots '3' and '4'
allow access to Subcontracting).

4) Right again. Players do one action at a time, according to VPs
placement order on Board III (and it's the same for the Stock Exchange
on Board II).

Hope you enjoy ! Let me know how it goes !

BC

3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tyrone ..................
United States
Salt Lake City
Utah
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
boranis wrote:

3) Don't forget that a player only has access
to those advantages if he placed a VP on the appropriate side of Board I
(spots '1' and '2' allow access to Bribery, while spots '3' and '4'
allow access to Subcontracting).


Yeah we didn't forget, I didn't put it in the post, but I was just clarifying for when a Vice President had been placed for that option.

Thanks again. We're going to play again tonight now that we have the flow and the rules down better.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tyrone ..................
United States
Salt Lake City
Utah
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We played again with my 10 yr old and, even though the box was listed for 14+, she kept up quite well. Both she and my wife liked it a lot.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bruno Crépeault
Canada
Val-d'Or
Québec
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Very nice to hear !

Not an easy game to manage for a 10-year old.

Congratulations to her, straight from the designer !

Enjoy,

BC
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Grimley
United States
Moorhead
Minnesota
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm concerned that a very early endgame could be caused by folks just going for the center of the earth achievement tile. Hopefully folks won't do that, as it would be disappointing not to experience the full game.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bruno Crépeault
Canada
Val-d'Or
Québec
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hey JD.

Agreed it would make for a disappointing scenario.

But since it has to be the majority of players (3/4 or 2/3)
that reach the center, I don't see it happening too early too often...

...unless most of them think they are winning !

(or bored to death )

So play we all !

BC
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.