Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Eldritch Horror» Forums » Rules

Subject: Cthulhu awakens..... anticlimactic? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Brad Ficek
United States
Erie
Colorado
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm wondering if I missed something here.

So we were going to lose anyway very likely. We had three investigators, five mythos cards left, and doom hit zero. Did not do very well obviously.

But anyway, when doom advanced to zero, we flipped Cthulhu's card... and it said that Cthulhu doesn't really rise up until we have three mysteries solved. We only had one mystery solved. So with the doom track at zero, what are we to do? Are gates important anymore? It sure seemed very anticlimactic. I solved the second mystery on the next turn, but all of the open gates seemed to lose their importance with the doom track at zero and we had no real reason to close them (yet).

More or less should we just assume we've lost if we get to that point and only have one mystery solved?

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alexander Juri
Germany
München
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
If the Doom-Track goes to the end, you flip Cthulhu.

The Backside states, you have to solve three mysteries and then kill Cthulhu.
It also states, that if you move into a Space with an Eldrich token, something bad happens and that each time the Doom-Track would move, a Sanity token comes to the GOO-Card. Futhermore there are bad things happening, each time the Comet-Symbol comes up.

So the challenge has gone harder, because:
- you have to solve your missing mysteries
- kill that ridiculously powerful GOO
- you Mythos-Deck is running out
- each time the Doom-Track moves, the problems increase

If you just had to kill the GOO, you could try to sit it out and ignore the mysteries. That is in Eldritch Horror no valid strategy.

5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brad Ficek
United States
Erie
Colorado
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So the bottom box on the back of the Cthulhu card still applies before Cthulhu actually rises from the sea?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alexander Juri
Germany
München
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Sure.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chick Lewis
United States
Claremont
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yeah, read ALL of Cthulhu's backside. (That didn't come out exactly the way I meant it.)

Not anticlimactic for us. We were in the exact same condition last night. Only one mystery solved and doom hit zero. We continued playing. We solved the second mystery but by now there were five counters on Cthulhu. Next reckoning, every single investigator went insane, and we lost.

Perfect Cthulhu finish !
9 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rich A
United Kingdom
London
NW London
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Nez477 wrote:
So the bottom box on the back of the Cthulhu card still applies before Cthulhu actually rises from the sea?


In terms of story, surely Cthulu did rise from the sea? Because he has risen from the sea you now have even more work to do and you all risk going insane before you get a chance to face him.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.