Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Fading Glory» Forums » Rules

Subject: dummy units rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
michael esposito
United States
morton grove
Illinois
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
dummy units.

Playing Fading Glory Salamanca. Wellington has a dummy adjacent to two hidden French cavalry units at end of Allied movement phase.. 

Are these two units revealed; ala 4th and 7th bullets; rule 16.1.3? .

Tks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lance McMillan
United States
Lakebay
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Cross-posting this response from the Nappy20 folder on CSW (since it's basically the same question).

The question is a little confusing as you don't state whose turn it is and the term "hidden French cavalry units" is ambiguous. My response is predicated on the assumption that (A) it is the British player's turn, and ( the "hidden" French cavalry units are, in fact, face-down (e.g. "unrevealed"). With that in mind, the following would apply:

= Whether the two French units are cavalry or not is irrelevant; face-down/"unrevealed" units are all treated identically, regardless of whether they're infantry, cavalry, artillery, or a dummy.

= Per the 3rd bullet of [16.1.1] units are revealed if you have a FACE-UP Cavalry unit adjacent to hexes containing faced-down enemy units. Effectively, you can consider this to be the cavalry unit "scouting" the enemy -- it's the only time that units would normally be revealed after the Movement Phase. However, because the British dummy is still (presumably) face-down, this rule does not apply and so the two face-down French units would NOT be revealed... yet. Note that if the British dummy were face-up, it would be immediately removed per the 5th bullet of [16.1.3], and thus would still not reveal the two face-down French units.

= If the French player desires to react with his Cavalry unit(s), he would be required to first reveal them (per the 1st bullet of [16.1.1]). This action would NOT reveal the British dummy (at least not at this juncture); however, if the British unit were a Cavalry unit, the British player *COULD* (but is not required to) reveal it in order to prevent the French cavalry from Disengaging/Penetrating. If instead the French declared he was conducting a Countercharge with his Cavalry unit(s) he'd first have to reveal them (per the 5th bullet of [16.1.1]) and then the British player would reveal his Dummy which would immediately be removed (per the 5th bullet of [16.1.3]). Note that once the French player declared a Countercharge he would not be able to "change his mind" and instead Disengage/Penetrate with the cavalry after the British target of the Countercharge had been revealed to be a Dummy.

= Presuming the French player chose not to React, the British player would then (in most situations) be forced to declare an attack with his still face-down/"unrevealed" Dummy. And again, the moment he reveals it to calculate the differential for the attack the Dummy would be removed (per the 5th bullet of [16.1.3]). Note that this would also reveal the two face-down French units, per the 7th bullet of [16.1.3].

= The 4th bullet of [16.1.3] is not really germane to this situation, it merely governs movement of face-down Dummy units and has no applicability to when/whether face-down/"unrevealed" units are revealed.

Hope that clears things up.

Lance McMillan
Developer for VPG's "Napoleonic 20" series
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
michael esposito
United States
morton grove
Illinois
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes. Makes sense. Thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.