James vanRosmalen
United States
Bellevue
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
So I just started painting the miniatures for Flash Point and Shadows over Camelot.

With the Flash Point dog (and other characters subsequently), I am thinking what I want to do with the bottom of the base after I am complete. I was considering attaching some thin felt to the bottom to make a nice sliding piece, but also less abrasive to the game board. Has anyone else done this?

I have a painting questions about washes as well - I have read that they can re-activate the paint of the miniature. So do this mean you have to do the wash right after the initial basecoat, where the color is still uniform? For example, if you had a completely painted (and dry brushed) miniature - can you do a final wash to give it a smoky/dirty texture or will it make the colors all bleed together?

Thanks in advance.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
S Squidpigge
United States
Utah
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Whenever I put washes on warmachine miniatures I never had a problem with causing the colors to bleed. Washes typically just darken shadows and crevasses. I don't know if a wash will add an overall smoky effect to the model. Worth a shot though.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul DeStefano
United States
Long Island
New York
flag msg tools
designer
badge
It's a Zendrum. www.zendrum.com
mbmbmbmbmb
I've never had a wash re-activate the paint of a mini.

I have been painting minis for 35 years.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James vanRosmalen
United States
Bellevue
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Geosphere wrote:
I've never had a wash re-activate the paint of a mini.

I have been painting minis for 35 years.

awesome, this was the response I was looking for. I just wanted to make sure before I put a dirty wash on my fire rescue dog and screw up days worth of painting.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jake Staines
United Kingdom
Grantham
Lincolnshire