Eric O. LEBIGOT
France
Versailles
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The FAQ (version 1.01) reads (p. 19):
Quote:
Building the Cross works like building a Shelter - you can build a Cross on a tile with your camp or on an adjacent tile.
What? One can build a Shelter on a tile adjacent to the camp?!

The ZMan rules don't seem to preclude this, but they also don't allow it explicitly (they say you flip the Camp Marker to its Shelter side and do not mention moving it).

Isn't the FAQ wrong about the possibility of building a Shelter on a tile adjacent to the camp?

PS: Just saw that this very question was already asked: http://boardgamegeek.com/article/13082054#13082054.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Xenothon Stelnicki
United States
Gainesville
Florida
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yeah, it should likely read:

Building the Cross works like building a Shelter - you can build a Cross on a tile with your camp. In addition, you may build a cross on a tile adjacent to your camp.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Weber
Germany
Wendeburg
Germany
flag msg tools
Yo quiero estar contigo, vivir contigo, bailar contigo
badge
Yo quiero estar contigo, vivir contigo, bailar contigo
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The revised German ruleset (the most current revision, this ruleset had a major overhowl in cooperation with the designer of the game) constructing a cross is compared to th collecting ressources or discover rules. The cross can be raised on any discovered tile. You will have to pay extra actions to cover distance to the camp, though. (pg. 26 of the German Pegasus edition ruleset)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
S. R.
Germany
Mainz
Rheinland-Pfalz
flag msg tools
It's a fearful thing, to fall into the Hands of the Living God!
badge
Tell me, have you found the Yellow Sign?
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
BGG answer, and also answer of the latest Polish game version:
You can build shelter ANYWHERE, and the camp insta-moves. In fact, you can build anything anywhere.

German rules set answer:
You can build ONLY on the camp site, and scenarios #2 and #7 have special rules for cages and crosses.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric O. LEBIGOT
France
Versailles
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Mixo wrote:
The revised German ruleset (the most current revision, this ruleset had a major overhowl in cooperation with the designer of the game) constructing a cross is compared to th collecting ressources or discover rules. The cross can be raised on any discovered tile. You eill have to pas extra action to cover distance to the camp, though. (pg. 26 of the German Pegasus edition ruleset)
Just to be sure: you're saying that the Cross in the German rules can also be built on a tile with one tile between it and the camp (like a Gathering or Exploration far from the camp)? This would make the FAQ entry (version 1.01) too restrictive, right?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
S. R.
Germany
Mainz
Rheinland-Pfalz
flag msg tools
It's a fearful thing, to fall into the Hands of the Living God!
badge
Tell me, have you found the Yellow Sign?
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In the German version, the cross can be built ANYWHERE.
Also, there is no restriction of "one space between". You can gather or explore anywhere on the island, as long as you have
a) a path of explored tiles to the camp and
b) one more pawn for each step the tile is distant from adjacent island tiles.
This is true for all versions, not only for the German one. The original rules just make it sound like adjacent and 1 space further are the only choices...
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.