Popular Tags: [View All]
Kevin Emmons
United States
Grand Blanc
MI
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Disclaimer:
MissJekyll has already done a great job with her session report. I won't go through the game description to save time.

Background:
I am a high school engineering/technology teacher and while I teach with games and teach students about crafting PnP, I also run a lunch time game group with about 4-7 students. These students are new to the board game scene. I've been slowly introducing them to the classics one at a time each session (Power Grid, Dominion, Carcassonne, Ticket to Ride). I have now decided they're ready to try something more challenging. At the same time, obtained from designer, Philip duBarry, a set of his files for Spirits of the Rice Paddy.

PnP Game Construction:
There's a lot to print in this game. Which in turn will make a lot to get in the final release of the published game. Setup cards, Rain cards, Two decks of event cards for drafting, a set of cards for solo play, a reference/play mat, individual player mats for each of the up to 4 players, cubes for people (I hope they use Meeple), cubes for livestock, weeds, fertilizer, and pests. Tokens for water, magic water, rocks, and planted/grown fields. Sticks for walls and for gates. Oh, and something to count up points/currency which is in the form of Rice (we used poker chips). All in all, it took me a while to gather all the materials.

I ended up designing and 3D printing tokens for the water and magic water to look like that illustrated in the rules. Glad I did. They worked great for stacking and passing around and were easy to distinguish with the rest of the components. I think next week, I'll do the same for rocks instead of using black wooden discs. Bring out the realism.

Game Setup: