Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Eldritch Horror» Forums » Rules

Subject: heatwave-delayed rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dan Likos
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
if a character is already delayed and the Mythos card heatwave is drawn, which says "event each investigator loses 3 health unless he becomes delayed" does he automatically lose 3 health?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, he must lose three Health. You cannot choose to become Delayed if you are currently Delayed. Just to field off another potential question, this is the case even if the investigator in question has the Pocket Watch or is Mark Harrigan.

For completeness, if the condition was instead worded, "Each investigator becomes Delayed unless they lose 3 Health," then they could get away without issue. With 'unless' statements, the choice that is made is whether or not to take the unless clause. You are not choosing between the two clauses (even though only one will happen in the end).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Yoong Ken Yen
Malaysia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Clipper wrote:
Yes, he must lose three Health. You cannot choose to become Delayed if you are currently Delayed. Just to field off another potential question, this is the case even if the investigator in question has the Pocket Watch or is Mark Harrigan.

For completeness, if the condition was instead worded, "Each investigator becomes Delayed unless they lose 3 Health," then they could get away without issue. With 'unless' statements, the choice that is made is whether or not to take the unless clause. You are not choosing between the two clauses (even though only one will happen in the end).


I don't think its that clear unless its written somewhere on the errata. Normally the game text will say something like "If already delayed, do x" like for some of the condition cards like Blessed and Cursed.

If we take it literally based on the text then you are right, we need to "BECOME" delayed, meaning you will need to become delayed from an undelayed state.

But from the game's point of view its a choice given to you to accept the disadvantage of being delayed to save you from losing health. Doesn't sound right that an already delayed player doesn't have a choice and will lose health regardless. For our group we played it as if you are already delayed you don't lose the health.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard
United States
San Diego
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Actually, it is clear. You cannot chose to become something you already are. You cannot chose to take a condition that you already have.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Austin Fleming
United States
West Covina
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
From the faq:

Quote:
^If an investigator cannot resolve an effect that follows
“unless,” he is forced to resolve the effect that precedes it.
• For example, an investigator must advance Doom by 2
unless he gains a Dark Pact Condition. If that investigator
already has a Dark Pact Condition, he cannot choose to
gain another, and he must advance Doom by 2 instead.


Sorry...
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yep, thanks for the backup, guys.

And just to further justify my reasoning about how it would be different if the unless clause was written the other way around, the Mark Harrigan Investigator Abilities section states that Mark can choose not to resolve the unless clause and then also automatically avoid the effect of becoming Delayed, for "Become delayed unless..." situations.

As this follows a comment clarifying that Mark does indeed become Delayed if he chooses it as part of an effect, this proves that the effect preceding an 'unless' clause is not a choice. Thus, only the effect following the 'unless' forms the actual choice made.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Yoong Ken Yen
Malaysia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I stand corrected then. Sorry and thanks for that.

This game is getting harsher and harsher as more plays with mistakes are uncovered. robot
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.