Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Race for the Galaxy: Alien Artifacts» Forums » Rules

Subject: Explore bonus- Two Player game rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dave Earp
Austria
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Two Player Game: Can I play Explore +1,+1 and Explore Orb together ?

How many cards would I look at?

How many cards would I keep?

Many thanks ..Davey ;-)

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Johan Haglert
Sweden
Örebro
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
daveyearp wrote:
Two Player Game: Can I play Explore +1,+1 and Explore Orb together ?

How many cards would I look at?

How many cards would I keep?

Many thanks ..Davey ;-)

I don't know the order of regular explore vs orb explore and I don't own AA but the Explore Orb one doesn't seem to give any bonuses for regular explore and in the base game playing two explore cards doesn't give two explore phases, only the bonuses stack. Only develop and settle run two separate phases if you play both cards.

So it would become:
Explore: 2,1
Explore card bonus: +1,+1
Explore Orb card: -
Total effect: ONE explore phase where you draw 3 and keep 2. And however the orb explore stuff work.



So in a two player game with the basic set where you played both the explore cards you would NOT draw three cards and keep two and then draw seven cards and keep one. You would draw eight cards and keep two.
One card bonus: +1,+1
Another card bonus: +5
Trigged explore phase: 2,1
In total: 8,2.

NOT two phases of 3,2 and 7,1.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jarek Szczepanik
Norway
Oslo
Oslo
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
daveyearp wrote:
Two Player Game: Can I play Explore +1,+1 and Explore Orb together ?

How many cards would I look at?

How many cards would I keep?

Many thanks ..Davey ;-)



Good question. By analogy to the base game when on both explore actions you drew 8 cards and kept 2, I think, here, you'll be drawing 3 cards & keeping 2 (because only red numbers on th action card add to the base value of draw 2 keep 1). Red numbers are on Explore +1, +1 card only.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Russell Howell                (What's Right?) (What's Wrong?)        
United States
Canoga Park
California
flag msg tools
Brought to you by Zik Zak
badge
Brought to you by Zik Zak
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You would perform all 3 Orb actions (Move, Place, Draw), instead of just 2, as your bonus during the Orb portion of the Explore phase, then:

You would look at 3 cards and keep 2 during the Acquire card(s) portion of the Explore phase as your bonus.



Here are the combos:

You select:

Orb / Explore +1/+1: Three Orb Actions; Draw 3, Keep 2
Orb / Explore +5: Three Orb Actions; Draw 7, Keep 1
Explore +1/+1 / Explore +5: Two Orb Actions; Draw 8, Keep 2
Orb / Any other non-explore card: Three Orb Actions; Draw 2, Keep 1
Explore +1/+1 / Any other non-explore card: Two Orb Actions; Draw 3, Keep 2
Explore +5 / Any other non-explore card: Two Orb Actions; Draw 7, Keep 1

No Explore Selected, anyone else chose any Explore: Two Orb Actions; Draw 2, Keep 1.
9 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Earp
Austria
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Super .. Thanks everyone ! :-)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.