Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Sergeants Miniatures Game: Day of Days» Forums » Rules

Subject: Scenario Questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
George Anderson
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Scenario 2 Breakfast, and Scenario 3 Someplace Else specify different VP values to buy troops. The special rules then say to "compare VP Purchases" and whoever spend less gets the point difference. Since one side is limited to 12VP and the other side can spend up to 20VP, does that mean if both sides spend max, the person that spent the 12VP starts with 8VP?

Many scenarios (for example 8 Slugging through the rain) state one side or other *may* buy certain types of equipment. Does this mean the scenario has to state you can buy the equipment to be allowed to buy it? Or does this only apply to equipment that comes as part of a story deck? For example, Can I buy a panzerfaust if the equipment section does not specify that I may buy one? How does this interact with certain future add-ons that might have equipment not mentioned...such as the tent, or extra ammo found with tactics? Can I buy a radio even if the equipment section doesn't say I may buy one for example?

Some scenarios (for example 26) Just say "forces" and don't specify a breakdown by numbers of players. In this case, does it assume only 2 players - or could I for example, since there are three leaders per side, have three players? If I did it this way, would each player still get his own set of orders?

How would one do 3 vs. 2 players in this kind of thing? Does it balance to have one side playing to three sets of orders and the other only playing to two?

I have order 53 (Road to Carentan) or similar order; and a radio. Does this mean that as long as my operator is alive, the artillery falls on the designated turn, or do I need to sight the space and get two LOOK actions? If I have this order, may I still do two look actions to get artillery to fall on other spaces?

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
George Anderson
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
On the same topic: If a scenario says under equipment that you may not buy equipment, then I assume this also means no purchasing specialist equipment or team equipment (so your MG teams are out of luck on the free shoot every phase for example).?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
George Anderson
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Answer from Jeff (pasted from DDS Kickstarter Comments):

Quote:
Jeff Billings about 7 hours ago

@George Anderson first question is yes.

Question 2 purchase of equipment... Some equipment does not fit in some scenarios. It is generally a bad play experience if a side holding ground can circle it with mines, sighted artillery and wire. Unless the scenario is designed with the right force adjustment. So in some scenarios we restrict the equipment to a certain set. In other cases the point of the scenario is using a piece of required equipment.

When general equipment is allowed use anything you can afford in the scenario. Some strangeness will occur if you buy the German field kitchen horse cart... but then it really should get strange...that is the point and the fun.

Division of forces is left up the the Players on each side because I cannot anticipate what the players own, and what they want in their force mix.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg
United States
Lowell
Indiana
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
George, sorry if people not responding seemed rude to you. We aren't a private club or anything like that, but there are some questions that we don't have answers to and have asked the same ones before ourselves.

Though for the first question, I could have answered that but wasn't sure about the others. That said, in your example of one player already starting with 8VP because they chose to not spend all of theirs. Well in once sense it can help them because it gives the opponent less VP they can gain by killing soldiers. However, if you have fewer soldiers for the opponent to kill, then it will make it easier for them to kill all of yours and get the instant victory, so then your starting 8VPs don't matter.

It's kind of a balancing act in a sense as far as VP's go. Because of the fact that there is an instant victory just by killing all opponent's soldiers. While I haven't tried Preempt and React cards yet due to teaching new players lately since getting Red Devils, I wonder how much the -VP from those cards will end up mattering because if you can use them to kill all opponents, then the -VP's don't matter. However, if the opponent has a Patrol Orders card and gets even one soldier off the map, then those -VP's will matter against you.

Anyway, have to head out to work. Welcome to SMG. Glad you got some answers from the "big guy"
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Charlie Theel
United States
St. Louis
Missouri
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Whoah, wait, what?

If. Scenario says Germans start with 20 VP of soldiers and US starts with 15 VP of soldiers, the US then starts with 5VP towards victory?

I've never played that way, we only played that if you started with less than your maximum you received VP equal to the difference. Interesting.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bruce E. Schwark
United States
Manitowoc
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
I believe this refers only to the earliest scenarios in DoD as in the OP.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg
United States
Lowell
Indiana
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
My response was based on if you used less than your allowance, as if you were allowed 20 and only used 12.

The last game I played a couple weeks ago, the Brits had 36 allowed and the Germans 32. At the end, I didn't get 4 extra VP's for having started with 4 less than the British player. Had I spent 28 instead of 32, then I would have had 4 VP's extra at the end of the game to add to other VP's.

At least that's how I've been playing it, like Charles.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Charlie Theel
United States
St. Louis
Missouri
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hahma wrote:
My response was based on if you used less than your allowance, as if you were allowed 20 and only used 12.

The last game I played a couple weeks ago, the Brits had 36 allowed and the Germans 32. At the end, I didn't get 4 extra VP's for having started with 4 less than the British player. Had I spent 28 instead of 32, then I would have had 4 VP's extra at the end of the game to add to other VP's.

At least that's how I've been playing it, like Charles.


That's how I play it Greg but that is wrong according to Jeff in the kickstarter comments.

I wonder if all scenarios are designed with that in mind. Although it doesn't exactly matter when I've played because mass slaughter always decides the win, not Orders cards.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mayor Jim
United States
Fort Wright
Kentucky
flag msg tools
badge
Vote Often!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Maybe Jeff was thinking "DDS" scenario rules vs SMG ones? In any event, nowhere, to my knowledge, in SMG does it state nor imply that if side A has, for example, 36VP to start vs 32VP for side B, then side B automatically starts with an extra 4 VP. Additionally, the way I've played, using my example above, if you don't/can't spend your full VP allowance due to soldier selection, etc. then you just make up the shortfall by adding grenades or equipment...you don't "gain" a few VP just because you didn't spend them all. If you go over your allotment, then you do lose VP equal to the amount you exceed the scenario setup.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Boyd
United States
flag msg tools
Yup, that's me. By John Kovalic.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That's the way I've understood it Jim. I think the extra VP's are only for those scenarios that specifically mention it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
George Anderson
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Lack of response did not seem rude to me. I figured it was due to lack of answer. Its why I took advantage of having Jeff's attention and cross-posting the question. It was looking like I wasn't the only one with need to know.

On the unbalanced VP question, my question did state that the special rules were awarding the points difference to the other player. Its my understanding of Jeff's response that it only applies when the scenario says to award the other player the points. IN games that start off with unbalanced points but do not mention to award the points difference, I think nothing happens as Tommy mentions.

When I did ask the question, I was asking about SMG specifically. Again, taking unfair advantage of the Kickstarter forum to get a few answers.

The interesting thing in my mind is the answers all were pretty much along the lines of what I was expecting they would be, confirming my suspicion that usually "simple" reading of something seems to be the correct one and as a long time wargamer I sometimes look for rules complexity where none exists (i.e. I tend to make it harder than it is) so with SMG (and presumably DDS) the simple interpretation will usually be the correct one

George
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.