T France
United States
Oakland
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
When the heroes rescue Serena do they also gain control of her? If not, what do you do with her?...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brent Mair
United States
Roy
Utah
flag msg tools
The Meeple Nation Boardgame Podcast - 30 minutes a week!
badge
BGGCon 2015 or Bust
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
They gain Serena as an ally if they win the scenario.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
T France
United States
Oakland
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
But what happens when they rescue her DURING Encounter 1 (for the rest of that Encounter?) do they control her or just get the one shot heal?...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Amanda Kopet
United States
Albany
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Just played this last night actually. The heroes get the one shot heal and then they can just leave her and run off the board. They don't actually have to take her off of the board with them in order to win the first half of the encounter.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
T France
United States
Oakland
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
synchroneyes wrote:
Just played this last night actually. The heroes get the one shot heal and then they can just leave her and run off the board. They don't actually have to take her off of the board with them in order to win the first half of the encounter.


I understand that. The question is if they gain control of her for the rest of Encounter 1. Can they move and attack with her? Heal with her? Etc...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Darren Nakamura
United States
Columbus
Mississippi
flag msg tools
http://www.destructoid.com/author.phtml?a=1364
badge
Darren@destructoid.com
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Descent Second Edition, Labyrinth of Ruin Rules and Quest Guide, Page 10, Special Rules wrote:
Serena is now rescued. Replace the villager token with Serena's ally token. Serena immediately performs her Soothing Spirit action. This does not count toward the once per turn limit. Serena is now treated as an ally.


Emphasis mine. "Treated as an ally" means that you follow all of the rules regarding Allies at the beginning of the Labyrinth of Ruin rulebook, which includes activating her before or after any hero's turn. So to answer your questions specifically, yes, after she is rescued, she may move, attack, use Soothing Spirit, or do any of the other things that Allies can normally do.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
T France
United States
Oakland
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Dexter345 wrote:
Descent Second Edition, Labyrinth of Ruin Rules and Quest Guide, Page 10, Special Rules wrote:
Serena is now rescued. Replace the villager token with Serena's ally token. Serena immediately performs her Soothing Spirit action. This does not count toward the once per turn limit. Serena is now treated as an ally.


Emphasis mine. "Treated as an ally" means that you follow all of the rules regarding Allies at the beginning of the Labyrinth of Ruin rulebook, which includes activating her before or after any hero's turn. So to answer your questions specifically, yes, after she is rescued, she may move, attack, use Soothing Spirit, or do any of the other things that Allies can normally do.


That's what I thought, but the rulebook goes out of its way to mention Quests and the like tell you when you "control an ally," which isn't mentioned in Encounter 1, and in fact if mentions that no matter the outcome of Encounter 1, the heroes control her in Encounter 2. But we played it that they did anyway...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.