Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Sergeants Miniatures Game: Day of Days» Forums » Rules

Subject: Another set of questions after the first session rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Kirill Krymskiy
Russia
Saint-Petersburg
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hello, guys.
Yesterday I finally played my first SMG session. And I should say I had a great time=)
And, as every new player, I faced several situations that I couldn’t solve correctly by myself (this time I ruled them by intuition). So I’m asking for your help and advice, veterans.

1. When moving a soldier I measure distance from his head or from the edge of the shooting arc. Then I move a soldier so his head is in the furthest point of his “walk” distance (assuming I want to move my soldier for his full “walk” distance) and rotate around his head to choose facing. But in this case soldier’s dog tag can be placed a little further than the furthest point of his “walk” distance. Is this correct? Or should I rotate the soldier around his dog tag (because exactly dog tag’s position is considered soldier’s actual location)?

2. The second question is about Orders. One of the orders instructs to enter the board on turn 2. And what if I enter the board later than the second turn because of lack the MOVE actions on the phase cards? Is the order considered failed?
After fulfilling my Order I show it to my opponent. So he will know my “bonus” order conditions. Is it ok?

3. Can soldiers freely leave the board through entry areas to survive?

4. I haven’t find this in the rules, so I’m asking. Can my soldier SHOOT at enemies that are in Combat Contact with my other soldiers? I think yes, because this is different situation from “shooting at escort and prisoner”, but I’m not sure.

5. Do I receive VP for killing opponent’s characters? As I know the killed characters are not removed from the board but layed on the side.

6. When shooting what will happen if after measuring the distance it’s longer (with applied modifiers) than LONG range of the shooter? I mean is SHOOT action considered wasted? Or can I choose another target like when LOOKING?

7. And the last question is about instant victory. Am I right in thinking that most games end in full elimination of one side? Because you’re always given a lot of time (turns) and what can you do if enemies impose you battle?! But if the answer to my 3rd question is positive then it changes everything=)

Thanks in advance=) And sorry for my poor “english”..
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mayor Jim
United States
Fort Wright
Kentucky
flag msg tools
badge
Vote Often!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1 if I'm understanding the situation, you should probably rotate around the dog tag so as to not gain a few extra mm of movement.

2 turn two is earliest you could enter. Also note that some scenarios state that if everyone does not enter by turn 4 then they are not allowed any more.

3 yes, but that might allow the enemy to accomplish their mission since you might not have enough (or any) soldiers left to contest him.

4 I believe not.

5 yes

6 I play that it is wasted.

7 yes again. There's a few scenarios where you might win instantly such as by exiting the map.

Hope that helps...
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kirill Krymskiy
Russia
Saint-Petersburg
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Jim, thank you for answers=)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Di Ponio
United States
Lake Orion
MI
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I thought with #4 that you could shoot at enemies in Combat Contact but you must be at close range and all damage is alternated between the enemy and the friendly soldier. That's how I play it anyways.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Charlie Theel
United States
St. Louis
Missouri
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Since no measuring is involved for shooting, I'm not sure how you could waste a shot. Perhaps if you weren't sure what squares it crossed diagonally I guess. We've never played you declare your targets and then check, we've always let the person count squares.

3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Schu Bo
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Does it say in the rules that killed characters are put on their side? Or is it scenario specific? I have Red Devils so I'm not sure if I just missed that in the rules?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg
United States
Lowell
Indiana
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Kira0403 wrote:
Hello, guys.
Yesterday I finally played my first SMG session. And I should say I had a great time=)
And, as every new player, I faced several situations that I couldn’t solve correctly by myself (this time I ruled them by intuition). So I’m asking for your help and advice, veterans.

1. When moving a soldier I measure distance from his head or from the edge of the shooting arc. Then I move a soldier so his head is in the furthest point of his “walk” distance (assuming I want to move my soldier for his full “walk” distance) and rotate around his head to choose facing. But in this case soldier’s dog tag can be placed a little further than the furthest point of his “walk” distance. Is this correct? Or should I rotate the soldier around his dog tag (because exactly dog tag’s position is considered soldier’s actual location)?

2. The second question is about Orders. One of the orders instructs to enter the board on turn 2. And what if I enter the board later than the second turn because of lack the MOVE actions on the phase cards? Is the order considered failed?
After fulfilling my Order I show it to my opponent. So he will know my “bonus” order conditions. Is it ok?

3. Can soldiers freely leave the board through entry areas to survive?

4. I haven’t find this in the rules, so I’m asking. Can my soldier SHOOT at enemies that are in Combat Contact with my other soldiers? I think yes, because this is different situation from “shooting at escort and prisoner”, but I’m not sure.

5. Do I receive VP for killing opponent’s characters? As I know the killed characters are not removed from the board but layed on the side.

6. When shooting what will happen if after measuring the distance it’s longer (with applied modifiers) than LONG range of the shooter? I mean is SHOOT action considered wasted? Or can I choose another target like when LOOKING?

7. And the last question is about instant victory. Am I right in thinking that most games end in full elimination of one side? Because you’re always given a lot of time (turns) and what can you do if enemies impose you battle?! But if the answer to my 3rd question is positive then it changes everything=)

Thanks in advance=) And sorry for my poor “english”..


3. Soldiers can leave through entry areas, but not through the entry area that the enemy came in from, unless the orders (usually patrol orders) specifically say you can leave through that area.

4. I don't remember if it is in the rules specifically or was discussed in one of the threads here, but we treat shooting at soldiers in close combat the same as you would with a prisoner/escort.

5. Unless that character is healed by an Event card, then he is still dead at the end of the game and you do get his VP's.

6. I don't declare a shooter and target before measuring. So during my Shoot action, I figure out which of my soldiers I want to shoot with and measure and determine what order I want to shoot with. The only way a shoot action would be wasted is if there are no spotted enemy soldiers or if none of them are in range or firing arc of your soldiers.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kirill Krymskiy
Russia
Saint-Petersburg
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
charlest wrote:
Since no measuring is involved for shooting, I'm not sure how you could waste a shot. Perhaps if you weren't sure what squares it crossed diagonally I guess. We've never played you declare your targets and then check, we've always let the person count squares.


Now I understand. I firstly declared the shooter and then counted.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kirill Krymskiy
Russia
Saint-Petersburg
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you all for help
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.