Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

A Distant Plain» Forums » Rules

Subject: Partnering Policy clarification (card #10) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Nathan Lee
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
If the government player takes the unshaded event, does that mean that the coalition can be given 2 free lim ops? Or any? The event says, strictly speaking that "the government or the coalition executes any 2 free limited operations," which could imply that it is the faction that is taking the event, or instead it could mean that either faction can take the ops, regardless of who took the event? Which is it?

Also, what if, through negotiation, an insurgent faction agrees to take the unshaded event? Who gets the lim ops?

Thanks!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Don't Blink
Australia
Brisbane
QLD
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think the faction that took the event chooses what happens.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nathan Lee
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, but can the government take the event and choose to have the coalition take the lim ops?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Volko Ruhnke
United States
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi!

If there is a choice of which faction to act, the executing faction gets to choose which faction acts. When a faction is chosen or specified to act, it makes the decisions of how to comply with the specified action (5.1).

So for unshaded "Partnering Policy", the insurgent faction (or whoever executed the event) would pick Coalition or Govt, and then that selected faction would get to decide the LimOps, where, and so on that it was executing.

vfr
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Volko Ruhnke
United States
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
thegreat2 wrote:
Yes, but can the government take the event and choose to have the coalition take the lim ops?

Yes. The Coalition would then execute any 2 free LimOps, choosing which, where, and any other details.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nathan Lee
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks, Volko! That makes it a more powerful event for the COIN side!

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.