Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Bobby Lee» Forums » Rules

Subject: Emancipation rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dan Raspler
United States
New York
New York
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In the first edition, the Union had to win an Antietam-sized victory (defeating at least six rebel units) before declaring Emancipation.

I understand why Tom wanted to change the rules (to avoid gamey tricks), but without a prerequisite, why won't the Union always declare it every single game as soon as possible?

Yes, the rebels get a 6 RP surge that turn... but since the Union income now permanently increases based on the victory track, it seems like it will always be a standard move.

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mario p.
Italy
Venice - Treviso
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
and that's quite historical ;-)!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Rice
Scotland
London
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Dan R. wrote:
?.. Union income now permanently increases based on the victory track, it seems like it will always be a standard move.



Surely there is no such thing as a "permanent increase" on the Victory Track. There is only one marker on the track and it moves dynamically. If the CSA take a Union VP city or retake one of their own, the VP marker moves back towards the CSA side. Also, the CSA get their time VP each quarter.

So although the proclamation gives the USA an immediate 3VP, it a one off (temporary) gain.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bill Martin
Senegal
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
but I think Dan is right about the increased income...the Union gets the 3VP, plus up to 3 more RP, at least for that supply turn
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bill Martin
Senegal
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
there is the limitation that Emancipation cannot be declared if the Confederates have any troops north of the Potomac...perhaps a strong motivation for the Rebs to do some raiding, if for no other reason than to prevent the Union declaring Emancipation. Raiding is more difficult now, though, with no foraging in enemy territory
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Raspler
United States
New York
New York
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
cicciburicci wrote:
and that's quite historical ;-)!

There are two conflicting rules versions -- which are you saying is historical?

It's historical that Lincoln wanted a big victory before declaring Emancipation. Tom took out that requirement in the current edition.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Raspler
United States
New York
New York
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Wimplesaur wrote:
Surely there is no such thing as a "permanent increase" on the Victory Track.


It's permanent relative to the changes on the VP track based on territory, just like the rebel "Time VPs".

wmartin64 wrote:
there is the limitation that Emancipation cannot be declared if the Confederates have any troops north of the Potomac...


So Winter 1862, the rebs must lunge across the Potomac and install a lodgement of troops in order to delay Emancipation, because it will likely always be declared as soon as it's legal to so. I haven't played yet, and it might work out perfectly... but it seems awkward and no less gamey than requiring the Union to defeat a large rebel army to establish the necessary political momentum.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bill Martin
Senegal
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
yeah, it seems impractical to "station" troops north of the Potomac, but if doing so cuts off supply to some Union troops, it seems like it'd be worth doing for a quarter or two...bottom line it seems the Emancipation Proclamation rule in 3.0 favors the Union too much, you could house rule it and make the Union defeat of a large Rebel army the prereq, as it was before
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Simo Voutilainen
Finland
Kuopio
-
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
But how large an army? This could lead to all kinds of silly gaminess in which the rebels never have the required number of blocks close to you (max. 1 below limit f.e.) - it just opens a new can of worms.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Simo Voutilainen
Finland
Kuopio
-
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Anyway I think the game is balanced in such a way that if the union do not get the 3 vps from emancipation it will probably lose in the autumn of 1864 (confed marginal victory) given the time vps the rebels get (14 vps by that time).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.