Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Empire of the Sun» Forums » Rules

Subject: China air supply, weather cards and other reaction questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Paul Martin
France
flag msg tools
Hi everyone,

I have four questions that poped during recent games (based on v2.0 rules):

1) "5.32.D. All Weather cards are removed from play if played as an event." => It's not written in weather card though, so is it correct that in this specific case, cards do not supercede the rules?

2) This one is more tricky. The case is a unit reacting with an amphibious assault to a battle ex containing at least a reaction air unit and a reaction naval unit. Attacking force contains naval unit in hex and exerts a (neutralized) ZOI on the battle hex. How to interpret rule 7.45.B: should the unit be accompagnied with a accompagning naval unit? If the reaction player looses the air & naval combat, can the unit participate in the ground combat (8.13 suggest that yes but is it true even if at the end of the air&naval combat, he ends up in an unopposed attacking player ZOI due to all defending air unit being destroyed)?

3) Do unsupplied US Air in China box incur the malus to China OC rolls?

4) When a unit does an amphibious assault in a empty hex "next to" a battle hex declared during the same offensive, do unit reacting to the battle hex and exerting a ZOI in the amphibious assault empty hex prevent the amphibious assault as per 7.45.B? Same question if reacting unit is a carrier and participate to the battle hex from the empty amphibious assaulted hex (Important: If Amphibious Assault ground unit(s) are without an accompanying friendly naval unit and opposing naval forces of any type end their movement in the battle hex as part of reaction movement, the assault is cancelled and the battle is considered lost.)?

Thanks in advance and sorry if these questions have already been adressed!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Steidl
United States
New Hampshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
1) The last sentence of 5.32.D is correct. Treat the cards as if they say this. (There are replacement cards in an old c3i issue...)

2) Unless otherwise stated, reaction movement is exactly like operations movement. You'll notice that the headers for the AA rule sections even say "Offensive and Reaction", except for C, which says "Offensive Only". So, yes, reaction units need a naval escort and/or ZOI neutralization in the same situations as offensive units. Your interpretation in the second part of your question is correct. This is one of the cases where reaction units are handled differently. A ground unit reacting via AA can participate in the ground combat regardless of the outcome of the air/naval combat.

3) When in doubt, Mark's rules mean exactly what they say. So I don't believe the US air units in China are required to be "in supply" to modify the roll. I think the only effect of their being OOS (no friendly air bases in N. India) is that they can't leave the China box. (Note that they are also reduced, but not eliminated, due to attrition if OOS while in China.)

4) Rule 7.45.B means exactly what it says. Reacting naval units that enter an unescorted assaulting unit's hex, or create an un-neutralized ZOI over the hex, will cause the AA to abort as per the rule.
2 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Martin
France
flag msg tools
Thanks a lot for your answers and the time you took to write them. About the last point:

jsteidl wrote:

4) Rule 7.45.B means exactly what it says. Reacting naval units that enter an unescorted assaulting unit's hex, or create an un-neutralized ZOI over the hex, will cause the AA to abort as per the rule.


It seems at the same time quite logical when looking at the big picture and somewhat strange during the game, when a reacting unit can prevent an AA on an hex which she cannot react to because it's not even a battle hex.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Steidl
United States
New Hampshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
The key is not to think about a battle hex as being a tactical battle. It is, at this scale, more of a focal point for operations where the offensive player is expecting and planning for extended combat operations. An unopposed invasion in an adjacent hex might be a secondary operation. Enemy units that are operationally in the area of the main focus (i.e. "reacting to the battle hex" in game terms) could easily locate and interfere with forces in the adjacent hex. If you want that secondary invasion to succeed, it will need some support.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.