Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Wiz-War (eighth edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Cards Combo issues rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Leone Fenzi
Italy
Genova
flag msg tools
badge
Winter is Coming
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
A couple of issues with "Share Life" [or whatever the English name] that popped up during our last game.

Foreword:
i) Player A: 9 HP
ii) Player B: 13 HP

Case 1)
Player A casts "Share Life" on Player B, who throws his "Homunculus" (already in play on the table, of course) into the fight.
What then? Clearly, Player B is "safe" from the "Share Life" effect, but what happens to Player A?

a1) According to the strict text card, Player A has to sum his current HPs (9) to the target (Homunculus: HP = 1) and then divide them as evenly as possible: does this mean that Player A now has (9+1)/2 = 5 HP ?
a2) And if yes, is the Homunuculus now a "super-Homunculus" with 5 HP?
b) Homunculus just dies (on duty) and Player A just maintains his 9 HP.


Case2)
Player A casts "Share Life" on Player B, who counter-casts "Pain Link".
This is the way we played it, but we were not 100% sure (big quarrel ) :
i) first of all, the two Mages share life: (9+13)/2= 11 HP each.
ii) then, since Player B "suffered" 13-11= 2 kind-of-damages, this "damage" is replicated on Player A because of the Link.
Result) Player A = 9 HP (again); Player B = 11 HP.

Comments?
Cheers
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam Lucas
Canada
Belleville
Ontario
flag msg tools
It's a perfect day for some mayhem!
badge
It's a perfect day for some mayhem!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Share life does not deal damage, so the Homunculus provides no protection against it. Likewise, you can not play Pain Link as a response to it.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Leone Fenzi
Italy
Genova
flag msg tools
badge
Winter is Coming
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Svengaard wrote:
Share life does not deal damage


Yep, this "semantical distinction" was the main reason of the discussion around the table: Share Life does not deal damage (directly), but it causes damage (in practice), so the idea was "bring the Counterspells on", but should the Community agrees this is not the case ...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Julia
msg tools
designer
We have dragged Reason from her Throne and set in her place the Empress of Dreams [liber Endvra]
badge
Amor, sola lex
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm with Adam on this one. Homunculus can indeed intercept Share Life (the triggering condition for the Homunculus is a LoS attack) but then he can't do anything against it. If we look at Homunculus wording, we read

Homunculus suffers all damage from the attack, ignoring all other effects

But Share Life reads

Add your current life and target wizard's current life together, and then divide the total life evenly between the two wizards [...]

There's no mention of any "damage", so the "ignore all other effects" on Homunculus card is to be followed.

Very same situation with Pain Link, the card refers to damage, but here we don't have damage.

Hope this helps
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.