Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game: Rise of the Runelords – Base Set» Forums » Rules

Subject: Holy Candle rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
dan pancaldi
Canada
Les Coteaux, Que.
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
can you use the Holy Candle if it isn't your turn?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Warner
United States
Middletown
Delaware
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes. The card does not say anything about when it can be played. So the only limit from the rulebook would be you can't play it during an encounter or once you start resetting your hand. But other than that, you can play it whenever. Its just like Cure.

Rulebook v3 p22 wrote:
Cards Do What They Say. Read any card as it is encountered or played, and do whatever it says as soon as it makes sense to do so. Let the card tell you what to do, and don’t impose limitations that aren’t there. You can play an armor card even if there isn’t one in your deck list. You can play a Cure spell even if it’s not your turn. You can play a blessing on a check even if someone else has played one. Cards say everything they need to say.


So Candle away my friend.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
dan pancaldi
Canada
Les Coteaux, Que.
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you sir!
No cards left in the blessings deck and we know where the villain is. Wish us luck!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Warner
United States
Middletown
Delaware
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
danpancaldi wrote:
Thank you sir!
No cards left in the blessings deck and we know where the villain is. Wish us luck!


Best of luck in smiting that villain.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Langston
msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Holy Candle rocks!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Throknor
United States
Pittsburgh
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Pretty much any time after there are six blessings in the discard pile is a good time to use it. There's no reason otherwise to keep it in your hand since it would clog more directly useful cards and would be at risk of being tossed as damage.
10 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
dan pancaldi
Canada
Les Coteaux, Que.
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ok, so we lost the scenario, but thanks anyways!
Just to clarify things. We can use the Holy Candle/Cure anytime, even out of turn? Even after you rest your hand? What about using Cure when it's not your turn and you are not at the same location with the person you want to cure? I'm at Adventure 4, I thought I had a good handle on the game.
By the way, the scenario I lost is Adventure pack 4, scenario 1. This scenario only let's you have 25 blessings to begin with. Very boon unfriendly this scenario is.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Warner
United States
Middletown
Delaware
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You can play Holy Candle on anyone's turn, but not once you (or whoever's turn it is) start to reset your hand. When you reset your hand you can only play "end of the turn" cards or cards that relate to playing "end of the turn cards". For example Levitate is an "end of the turn card." If the character being moved by levitate was at the Treacherous Cave, they could play a Potion of Fortitude to succeed at the moving requirement.

Rulebook v3 p9 wrote:
Reset Your Hand: First, apply any effects that happen at the end of the turn; if a power allows or directs you to not reset your hand, you must still apply any effects that happen at the end of the turn. You may play cards and use powers unless a power directed you to reset your hand and end your turn. After resolving these effects, you may no longer play cards or use powers for the rest of the turn.


The rules about resetting your hand apply to any "end of the turn effects" not just the cards you play. So the same is true if you are applying a location' power that has an "end of the turn effect".

So there are three limits to when you can play any card:

1. You can only play cards when their powers apply to your situation.
Rulebook v3 p9 wrote:
You may not activate a power that doesn’t apply to your current situation.

2. You can only play cards during an encounter that relate to the steps of the Encounter a Card sequence.
Rulebook v3 p9 wrote:
If a card in your hand does not specify when it can be played, you can generally play it at any time, with the exception that during an encounter you may only perform specific actions at specific times.

3. Once you start to reset your hand you can only play cards that are "end of the turn" powers or that relate to applying those kind of effects. (See quote above.)

Cure, in the card's power text, says the beneficiary of the spell has to be at your location. But it doesn't say when you can play it, in terms of relating to a specific part of your or someone else's turn. So you can play it on anyone's turn, but the person you are curing has to be at your location.

Holy Candle can be played on your or someone else's turn. But both have to follow those limits. So you can't play either during an encounter or once the turn gets to "Reset Your Hand". You can simply wait until the next turn starts and play them then.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
dan pancaldi
Canada
Les Coteaux, Que.
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the clarifications. javascript://
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Warner
United States
Middletown
Delaware
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
danpancaldi wrote:
Thanks for the clarifications.


No problem. Sorry to hear you didn't win the scenario (though loosing a few here and there makes the challenge fun). That was a tough one due both to having less turns and also having to cry when a nice boon was banished before your eyes (my Sajan watched Amulet of Fiery Fists be banished from the location he was waiting to explore). Better luck next time.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Calthaer the Bard
Turks and Caicos Islands
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If your Sajan were a Zen Archer instead of a Drunken Master, he wouldn't shed so many tears about that amulet.

Holy Candle works well with this scenario to "restore" some of the lost turns...but I found it somewhat unnecessary. With boons being banished fairly regularly, you're effectively removing necessary explores from the game - even though they're not the explores you'd wish to remove.

A side note to Hawkmoon's explanation about the "end-of-turn" restrictions: it's usually not a big deal to go through the end of the turn (reset your hand, etc.), flip the blessings deck, and then use whatever card you were planning to use (e.g., Holy Candle) at the very beginning of the next player's turn.

Usually.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.