Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Lords of Waterdeep: Scoundrels of Skullport» Forums » Rules

Subject: Bribe the Watch - Multiple activations rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Sean Demarce
Canada
flag msg tools
mb
So we were having a game of Lord of Waterdeep last night playing with both expansions. A friend played the Intrigue card called Bribe the Watch. Here is the card text.

Spend $$:Return up to ** from your tavern to the corruption track. Each opponent can spend $$$$ to return * to the corruption track.

$ = coin
* = corruption

Being Magic the Gathering players my friend said ok, I am going to pay four $ and remove 4 corruption because the spend is before the colon. So you can activate it as many times as you have the money for. Looking through all the other Intrigue cards it seems that it is the only card that is formatted like this.

Is there any kind of ruling on this card that anyone knows of?

Thanks for your help.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Donny Behne
United States
Fate
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
www.punchboardmedia.com/geaux-gaming/
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You can only perform the indicated action once. Can't recall where, but I've seen it written before.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
D P
United States
Tennessee
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Rules wrote:
[...]1. Play Intrigue Card: By assigning an Agent to one of the action
spaces on Waterdeep Harbor, you play a single Intrigue card from
your hand. If you have no Intrigue cards, you cannot assign an
Agent to Waterdeep Harbor.
When you play an Intrigue card, you follow its instructions
immediately. Its effect takes place just once. For example,
Lack of Faith forces each opponent to remove 1 Cleric ( hH )
from his or her Tavern if possible. If an opponent has more than
1 Cleric, you cannot force that player to remove additional Clerics
with this card.
I believe that's the quote you're looking for.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chad Miller
United States
Stigler
Oklahoma
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Chewy27 wrote:
Being Magic the Gathering players my friend said ok, I am going to pay four $ and remove 4 corruption because the spend is before the colon.


Even if this were a valid argument in the first place, one-shot spells in Magic: The Gathering do not work this way.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.