Last night we played Acquire for the first time. I won she lost. I'm not sure we will every play again.
Tonight we played Loco!, again for the first time and I may actually get to play again. Here is my tale:
Hand #1 ended after she laid five straight yellow cards (I laid the five early so she couldn't collect on it). With a dumb look (this is our first try after all), "That's the end of the hand right?" I shrug. "Yes".
--Current score: 4 for me, 16 for her.
Hand #2 ends unexpectedly... for her!!! She stockpiles greens and lays a zero. Only one green left and I bet it is the 5. So I quickly finish the reds with a four (the second highest possible score for me). She goes to lay the next card, but no, the hand is over. Ha ha ha!
--Current score: 38 for me, 36 for her.
At this point we are curious when the game is supposed to end. The rules state that each person should deal once. Bleh. We decide to play to 100 and the person with the highest score wins. Continuing...
Hand #3, I take a hit, 18 points to her 39. I wish I could say I took it for the team, instead I paid the stupid tax. I laid the fifth card on purple, so she merely completed the color, which she had been stock piling. And I really wanted to lay my high red card. Bleh.
-- Current score: 66 for me, 75 for her.
Hand #4, another big winner for me.
--Current score: 94 for me, 87 for her.
Hand #5, now you really won't believe this one. She gets all the greens, I have most the yellows and reds. The hand ends, I score 25 points while she scores 33.
--Final score: 119 for me, 120 for her.
!@#$. I lost by one. The score sheet is now on our fridge.
1. With two people, the first player seems to have an advantage (possibly because they have the opportunity for an extra chip?).
2. The one who ends the round certainly has an advantage.
3. If you like a game and want to continue to play it, lose the first time. Trust me on this. She will be excited to play again!
- Last edited Sat Jul 27, 2013 2:51 am (Total Number of Edits: 5)
- Posted Sat Jun 10, 2006 6:40 am
Re: if you ever wish to play a game a 2nd time, lose the 1st
1) With two people, the first player seems to have an advantage (possibly because they have the opportunity for an extra chip?).
2) The one who ends the round certainly has an advantage.
In Flinke Pinke (which is one of the many versions of Loco) the players who did not play a complete round get two extra points. You might want to introduce this rule in your next game.
Now, come to think of it... With this rule you might have won the game, which would turn out to be bad... Hmmm...
3) If you like a game and want to continue to play it, lose during the first you play it. Trust me on this.
Words of wisdom, man, words of wisdom!
- Last edited Sat Jun 10, 2006 11:44 am (Total Number of Edits: 1)
- Posted Sat Jun 10, 2006 11:33 am
Re: if you every wish to play a game a 2nd time, lose the 1s
3) If you like a game and want to continue to play it, lose during the first you play it. Trust me on this. She is excited to play again!
Probably the best advice Ive seen on BGG...no kidding.